Critical Hit Damage

DMG 3.5 Page 222: "On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon's damage."

...

Oh crap. I just realized something... they're talking about creatures immune to critical hits. Which would mean in all other cases you probably still multiply the normal weapon damage.

DOH!!!!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Above, I said

"It doesn't matter whos method you use here, Cooke's or the normal rule's version. The problem lies in the fact that a "flaming burst critical" DOESN'T Multiply the weapon's normal damage. (DMG 3.5 Pg 222)"

I was wrong. This only applies to creatures immune to critical hits. So in all other cases we probably multiply the weapon's normal damage AND use the rules for increasing the additional damage.

Sorry for the misunderstanding. If anyone is confused, ask and I will try to re-explain how this function works in game.
 

here is the SRD on Flaming Burst - it says nothing in there about not multiplying the regular damage. It specifies that it is additional damage, not in place of. Can you point me to the rule that says you don't multiply the normal damage when a flaming burst weapon scores a critical?


Flaming Burst
: A flaming burst weapon functions as a flaming weapon that also explodes with flame upon striking a successful critical hit. The fire does not harm the wielder. In addition to the extra fire damage from the flaming ability (see above), a flaming burst weapon deals an extra 1d10 points of fire damage on a successful critical hit. If the weapon’s critical multiplier is x3, add an extra 2d10 points of fire damage instead, and if the multiplier is x4, add an extra 3d10 points of fire damage.

SRD - Magic Armor and Weapons
 

yeah, I mis-read the entry on page 222 of the DMG 3.5.

When the creatures would normally be immune to critical hits you don't aply the multiplier to the regular damage. But you still apply the multiplier to the flaming burst. See above.
 


Remove ads

Top