Velenne said:A 6th level caster can't cast this spell. Minimum is 11th level (if you're a wizard), and you'd get 8 HD.
Congratulations on your observation, however misplaced it is. I am aware that a 6th level mage cannot cast the spell. I was referring to the 6th circle of magical prowess...that is to say 6th level spells. To reiterate my question with this new enlightenment, can you summon an 8 HD--make that 9 HD, according to the new math--creature via 6th level SPELLS? I have never experimented with summoning spells and am unfamiliar with the rules that you and Jeremy have delineated.
9 HD worth of abilities acquired vicariously through a template is still pretty beefy as a 6th level spell, IMHO.