Cyclonic Doom special ability

Sharkon

First Post
Cyclonic doom is the special ability of the skypledge prestige class in Races of the Wild. In my opinion it is a very good special ability but i have a quorry about it, emphassizing in 2 points of the descreptive text :

* ...., if you take a standar action to ask for their help (1st setence)
* You can activate or deactivate the cyclonic doom as a free action,.... (last setence)

So what action should i use to activate the cyclonic doom ?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Cyclonic doom is the special ability of the skypledge prestige class in Races of the Wild. In my opinion it is a very good special ability but i have a quorry about it, emphassizing in 2 points of the descreptive text :

* ...., if you take a standar action to ask for their help (1st setence)
* You can activate or deactivate the cyclonic doom as a free action,.... (last setence)

So what action should i use to activate the cyclonic doom ?

I'd go with free action as they wrote the last sentence last. There was no Errata or FAQ of the book.
 

I read it as it takes a standard action to activate (actually call for help - but then the power is either "on" or "off").

You can activate ("on") or deactive ("off") as a free action but not both in the same turn.

This latter part is because you can use the ability for 10 rds per day (broken up as desired).

It is necessary to deactive the power when near an ally to prevent them from taking damage.

So. .you take a standard action to turn it on. If an ally comes near (or you go near an ally) you can turn it off as a free action, then the next turn you can turn it back on as a free action to address any foes nearby.

I think this makes sense when put in a larger context.
 

So activating this ability is a standar action in the first round. Although i think that what i will say is wrong , could this be treated as a spell-like ability? So that i select feats such as empower spell-like ability and quicken spell-like ability ?
 

I read it as it takes a standard action to activate (actually call for help - but then the power is either "on" or "off").

You can activate ("on") or deactive ("off") as a free action but not both in the same turn.

This latter part is because you can use the ability for 10 rds per day (broken up as desired).

It is necessary to deactive the power when near an ally to prevent them from taking damage.

So. .you take a standard action to turn it on. If an ally comes near (or you go near an ally) you can turn it off as a free action, then the next turn you can turn it back on as a free action to address any foes nearby.

I think this makes sense when put in a larger context.

So you see to turn it on the first time in a battle as a standard action, but from then on it is free action?
 

So you see to turn it on the first time in a battle as a standard action, but from then on it is free action?

I see that it takes a standard action to ask for help. This does not mean it is on or off only that from that point on the character can turn it on or off (for a total of 10 turns per day).

Once a round as a free action the character can turn it on or off but not both.
 

Remove ads

Top