Since it's only useable by the item in its regard as a weapon, it only converts damage to cold damage when it's being used as a weapon, i.e. in a power with the Weapon keyword. (Same criteria for when you get the proficiency bonus.)All damage dealt by this weapon is cold damage.
To further muddy the waters, what about melee implement powers? The DnD XP sorcerer had a feat that allows him to channel ranged attack spells into his dagger and make a melee attack instead.
From the D&DXP character sheets, we saw:[
Weapon Expertise (+1 to attack with chosen weapon group)
Implement Expertise (Dagger) and IMplement Expertise (Rod)
Radiant Power (-2 to attack for +2 to damage with implement)
So yeah, I anticipate we will.
My character is an Artificer, and he has a lot of Wizard like powers that use his Ranged Weapon instead of an implement... So if I had a flame bow, would my force based At-will power become fire instead of force, or force and fire, or stay force?
No house ruling is required. See PHB, p. 226:My character is an Artificer, and he has a lot of Wizard like powers that use his Ranged Weapon instead of an implement... So if I had a flame bow, would my force based At-will power become fire instead of force, or force and fire, or stay force?
In the end we made a quick house ruling ...
Did you miss Ziana's post? The pertinent (and only) question is this: Are we speaking of a Property or Power?If you use a power from an item that changes all damage it deals to cold damage, then all damage done with powers by that weapon are changed to cold damage.
If the item's power, instead, says 'all weapon damage' then it'd only apply to damage done with [W] style, regardless of if it is a Weapon power or an Implement power.
Actually, according to the RAW PHB, only the Enhancement bonus applies.According to RAW in the PHB, most likely.
The FAQ/CSR reference you provided is actually more expansive than originally provided, although the RAW's non-reference to Critical was definitely an oversight and the non-reference to Property probably was also.PHB p. 55-56 said:Accessories: .... If you have a proficiency bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls from your weapon or an enhancement bonus to your attack rolls and damage rolls from a magic weapon or an implement, you add that bonus when you use a power that has the associated keyword.
Actually, according to the RAW PHB, only the Enhancement bonus applies.
The FAQ/CSR reference you provided is actually more expansive than originally provided, although the RAW's non-reference to Critical was definitely an oversight and the non-reference to Property probably was also.
Powers 226 said:Some magic items have a special power. This entry,
when present in an item description, includes the
action required to use the power and the effect of the
power. In some cases, it might also indicate the specific
conditions under which you can use the power
(for instance, only if you’re bloodied).
In general, magic item powers follow the same rules
as other powers (in that they have ranges, shapes, and so
forth). See “How to Read a Power,” page 54, for details.