Prince Atom
Explorer
Last session, the party fought some yuan-ti. One of them laid down a darkness spell. I'll be the first to admit I messed that up, because I hadn't reviewed the darkness rules in the DMG.
The party had at least one everburning torch. The light from the torch would not penetrate the field of shadows more than to provide that 20% miss chance. When the torch passed into the darkness, I ruled that it was occluded for the duration and that the entire underground area was plunged into inky blackness because it was the only source of light.
Now, continual flame is a Clr3 spell, while darkness is only 2nd level. The continual flame should not have been damped out entirely. That's where I was wrong.
I guess my question is... does light pass through a darkness spell on a kind of meta-level? A torch casts light in a 20' radius. If the darkness spell covers only a part of that radius, but includes the torch, does the rest of the radius receive light?
Does anybody have any idea what I'm asking?
TWK
The party had at least one everburning torch. The light from the torch would not penetrate the field of shadows more than to provide that 20% miss chance. When the torch passed into the darkness, I ruled that it was occluded for the duration and that the entire underground area was plunged into inky blackness because it was the only source of light.
Now, continual flame is a Clr3 spell, while darkness is only 2nd level. The continual flame should not have been damped out entirely. That's where I was wrong.
I guess my question is... does light pass through a darkness spell on a kind of meta-level? A torch casts light in a 20' radius. If the darkness spell covers only a part of that radius, but includes the torch, does the rest of the radius receive light?
Does anybody have any idea what I'm asking?

TWK