Defeating my powergamer Glave master

OA's are limited to one per turn. Immediate actions, reactions or interrupts, do not change the current turn. This is both explicit and implicit[you cannot use them on your own turn]

There are a lot of things you can get around with readied actions, and the penalty you take is a reduction in your init order and the chance of it not triggering.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Per target. You can take 20 OAs, as long as it's 20 different targets triggering them.

No, per turn. There are two components to rounds.

1. The round
2. The turn

Each enemies set of actions on their initiative order is a separate turn. You get one OA per turn. It doesn't matter who is acting on what turn, its one per turn.

If your enemies can work it[readied actions!] to get more than one enemy acting on a single combatants turn[or your turn] then then you ignore some amount of OAs, IRs, and II's[all of them if you get it to happen on the persons turn that you want to ignore the OA's, IRs, and IIs, from]

This means it is also theoretically possible for you to make more than one OA against a single enemy per round[many more if you've got a specific feat], but the standard method would be "move provokes", enemy readies action, launches it on turn that is not yours, and that action also provokes.
 
Last edited:

That's not really how readied actions work. They won't all go "at the same time". When you ready an action, it essentially functions as an immediate interrupt on the readying trigger, moving your initiative to right in front of the triggering event.

For example, I ready a charge for when an enemy comes around a corner. When an enemy comes around the corner, I interrupt the action and take my action (the charge) before he resumes the rest of his turn. So the Fighter would still get OA's on each monster, otherwise there's a LOT of broken shenanigans you can perform with readied actions.

Yeah, except you are not quite correct there. A readied action is a reaction which happens either after the action that triggered it, or after a move to a specific point during a move action. Thus the action happens DURING the turn of the creature that triggered it, just like any other immediate reaction. You THEN move into the initiative order preceding the creature that you interrupted, that is a whole separate issue.

Guomindong, you are just incorrect in this case. There are no such entities in 4e as 'rounds'. Each creature gets a turn in the initiative order. You can take ONE OA per turn. That is you can only OA one time during that creatures turn, and if 10 creatures are acting in that turn, you can still only OA one of them.

Interrupts are even more restricted, you can only take a single interrupt between the end of your turn and the end of your next turn. Also a key thing is you cannot take them in your OWN turn, thus creatures performing actions (by readying on your actions) cannot be subject to a CS interrupt attack.

Thus it is quite true that there are a whole lot of clever things you can do with readied actions. That's what they are FOR.
 

In our gaming group, there's a guy just like this. He doesn't read the rules too closely, but he tries to say realism works in his favor ("Electricity should do more damage if they're standing in water, right?") I run a couple of one off sessions to give my DM a break, and he rolled in with a Dragonborn Fighter (fighter his favorite class) min/maxxed to the yinyang, and I'm pretty sure he fudges dice rolls and stats.

He ran in like he usually does, and I surrounded him with kobolds, readied an action until their initiative, than had a hobgoblin+7 kobolds all grapple him at the same time.

STR 10+2+2+2+2+2+2+2 for assisting gives an opposed roll of 24 STR vs his 18 STR. Needless to say, he was grabbed, grappled, and dogpiled.

It was fun to kill his character with 1 actual enemy and 7 minions. Minions that he could have just Dragonbreathed away if he would have thought through the process.

But alas, when you're prone in a dogpile, and getting up triggers opportunity attacks from 8 sources, you certainly learn your lesson about 'teamwork'
 

Guomindong, you are just incorrect in this case. There are no such entities in 4e as 'rounds'. Each creature gets a turn in the initiative order. You can take ONE OA per turn. That is you can only OA one time during that creatures turn, and if 10 creatures are acting in that turn, you can still only OA one of them.

I hope you inform everyone else that their powers that they can only use "1/round" no longer function because "rounds" don't exist.

Each creature gets a turn in the initiative order, the full run of creatures turns in the init order is a round.

I am very much arguing the rest of what you're saying.

JBeatnik said:
But alas, when you're prone in a dogpile, and getting up triggers opportunity attacks from 8 sources, you certainly learn your lesson about 'teamwork'

Standing up does not trigger OA's.
 


Guomindong, you are just incorrect in this case. There are no such entities in 4e as 'rounds'.

PHB Pg. 29

Combat encounters are played out in rounds. Each round represents about 6 seconds in the game world, regardless of how long it takes to play out the round. Combat starts with initiative checks to determine the order of play for the entire battle. There are four types of actions you can take in any round: standard actions, move actions, minor actions, and free actions.

Rounds are used throughout the rules. I'll take just the Cleric class for example. You can only use Healing Word once per round, for example. You can move a Guardian of Faith , or an Astral Shield, or Knight of Glory once a round. Astral Refuge works for three rounds. Spirit of Health heals once per round.

As for Guomindong being wrong, yes he often is. But, as for him claiming there are rounds, he is correct.
 

I hope you inform everyone else that their powers that they can only use "1/round" no longer function because "rounds" don't exist.

Each creature gets a turn in the initiative order, the full run of creatures turns in the init order is a round.

OK, lets not get into a huge argument about this, because there are a few fairly vague references to 'round' that you can find in the PHB, but there is really no such thing as a round as an element of 4e.

There is an initiative order. It is like a circle. You go when your point in the circle comes up. There are NO powers that function "1/round", there are certain restrictions on things you can do, like make one immediate action (interrupt or reaction) between one of your turns and your next turn. There are plenty of powers that last "until the start/end of your next turn", etc. None of them are described AFAIK in terms of a round, and any that are clearly refer to a time from one of your turns until the next one of your turns. There is no 'start of the combat round' like there was in 1e or 2e.

So, I don't think it is sensible to argue about if 'rounds' exist or not really. If you say round, everyone will understand what you mean, and even the PHB does it occasionally.
 

PHB Pg. 29



Rounds are used throughout the rules. I'll take just the Cleric class for example. You can only use Healing Word once per round, for example. You can move a Guardian of Faith , or an Astral Shield, or Knight of Glory once a round. Astral Refuge works for three rounds. Spirit of Health heals once per round.

As for Guomindong being wrong, yes he often is. But, as for him claiming there are rounds, he is correct.

It is an empty concept. You can use healing word, if you use it you can use it again once you get back to the start of your next turn. There is no meaning in any game mechanical sense to the term 'round' except it is effective shorthand for "between the time you start one of your turns and the time you start the next one of your turns." Yes, the word appears in the PHB, I know that, it just hasn't an independent operational meaning of its own.

I shouldn't have said he was wrong, that was too strong a way to put it, sorry. It is just that a LOT of confusion enters into player's minds (especially old school players from 1e or 2e where round was a concrete thing) when they start thinking there is some significance to it in terms of how the action happens in combat. Even environmental effects happen at a point in the initiative order. ;)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top