Deft Strike and OA's?

comotose4

First Post
I was wondering if the movement from Deft Strike provokes attacks of opportunity? Srry if this has been clarified before but I havent seen it if it has. Thanks for the heads up in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



I actually have a question too. Does an OA stop the moving character in its tracks? I know there's some mention of this and it's being discusses as a tactic amongst my players, but I'm not sure if it's correct.

If a creature moves and provokes Opportunity Attacks, does the creature have to stop moving once he is hit? This comes from the rule in KotSF that says: "An opportunity action interrupts the action that triggered it."
 

AZRogue said:
I actually have a question too. Does an OA stop the moving character in its tracks? I know there's some mention of this and it's being discusses as a tactic amongst my players, but I'm not sure if it's correct.

If a creature moves and provokes Opportunity Attacks, does the creature have to stop moving once he is hit? This comes from the rule in KotSF that says: "An opportunity action interrupts the action that triggered it."
No. Interrupts very specifically just pause the action they're interrupting, then let it continue afterwards. Unless the interrupt somehow makes that part of the action illegal. Then that would cancel the part that was made illegal, such as being immobilized in the middle of a power that lets you move then attack. You can still make the attack if you have a legal target, you just can't continue to move :)

The fighter at D&DXP had to ability to stop people from moving with OAs. The ability hasn't been seen since.
 

AZRogue said:
I actually have a question too. Does an OA stop the moving character in its tracks? I know there's some mention of this and it's being discusses as a tactic amongst my players, but I'm not sure if it's correct.

If a creature moves and provokes Opportunity Attacks, does the creature have to stop moving once he is hit? This comes from the rule in KotSF that says: "An opportunity action interrupts the action that triggered it."

The Fighter from the Experience playtest had that specific rule.

However, I thought slides do not provoke OAs.
 


None of the three types of forced movement - push, slide, and pull - draw opportunity attacks (KotS Adventure Book, pg. 11 under "forced movement").
 

Mouseferatu said:
Yes it has. They still have that. But it's a fighter-specific ability.


Fighter specific. Cool. Helpful for the party without completely changing the way movement happens over the battlefield.
 


Remove ads

Top