Did I get this wrong?

Festivus

First Post
One of my players last night wanted to perform the following:

Drop a weapon (free action)
Draw a ranged weapon (move action)
Five foot step
Shoot ranged weapon

At the beginning of the round she was in a threatened square, wanting to take a 5 foot step away from the creature. To me, I thought she was trying to do one to many things, was I wrong in this? Should the adjacent creature have been permitted the AOO? I ruled that it would get the AOO (it missed anyhow) but I really want clarification on this.

edit: to further clarify, she has BAB+1. My argument was that she would be drawing a weapon in combination of the move action, but that move action is what would provoke the AOO.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Festivus said:
Draw a ranged weapon (move action)
This is what would provoke the attack of opportunity. She should have done this part after taking the 5ft-step. Otherwise, it was a perfectly legimate series of actions. Dropping a weapon so close to your opponent is not really a good idea, though. If the weapon was obviously magical (perhaps glowing with a light), the opponent should just pick it up and run away.
 

Festivus said:
edit: to further clarify, she has BAB+1. My argument was that she would be drawing a weapon in combination of the move action, but that move action is what would provoke the AOO.
There is no movement Move Action. A 5ft-step is not a Move Action. It's no action at all, in fact. The drawing a weapon was a Move Action and it provokes an AoO.
 

The SRD lists drawing a weapon as not provoking an attack of opportunity. Sheathing a weapon, on the other hand, does provoke an AoO. I2K is correct that the 5 foot step is not a Move in the sense that it can be combined with drawing a weapon. A 5 foot step never provokes an Attack of Opportunity.

Everything looks fine. The actions can go off without a hitch.
 


I think you can take the 5' step (not a move action, special action when you perform no other move), drop your weapon (free action), draw a weapon (move equivalant that does not invalidate the 5' step), standard action attack. If you had quickdraw (free action) you could have even made a full attack action.
 

Ok, so if she said it in the other order, meaning 5 foot step first then draw and fire... it wouldn't be a problem. I have to review the chat log to see what she said. Admittedly this was towards the end of the evening and I was getting tired, so I could have brain farted.

She might even have quickdraw, which makes me doubly wrong :)

Thanks for the clarification, this makes sense, but for some reason at 11:45pm it didn't.
 


Note that even in the order she said it, her actions did not draw an AoO.

1) Drop weapon. No AoO.
2) Draw weapon. No AoO.
3) 5' step away. No AoO.
4) Shoot ranged weapon. AoO--but she is now (presumably) outside the threat range. So no AoO.
 

No one finds it bizarre that drawing a weapon that doesn't threaten has no bearing on provoking AoOs?

I've always envisioned drawing a weapon (like a sword) as a potential strike; so not provoking an AoO makes sense. But drawing a bow?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top