• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Different Strokes

Arrgh! Mark!

First Post
I was just reading the Anime thread and a poster mentioned that there's a generation gap in RPGs - the older gamers being S+S junkies and the newer ones being anime/LOTR visual junkies.

I was just thinking - are games changing due to this generation gap? Do we have a marked explosion in a more visual game than a well scripted for the verbal game?

Being an english teacher, I can say my kids are more often than not visual in their writing and creating style. Ask them to write a story and they write what would look excellent in a movie (exploding spaceships or what not) non-visual stimulus is less exciting. The exploding spaceship thing applies - an exploding spaceship in a novel is not awe inspiring at all.

What do we think, guys? In a visual-less game, are we becoming more visual oriented?

Mark CMG

Creative Mountain Games
I think LotR is S&S/Heroic fiction. I'm not into anime but I know some folks older than me who are. I think there is less of a generation gap and more of a style/taste gap that modern D&D is attempting to crossover.

S

shurai

Arrgh! Mark! said:
I was just reading the Anime thread and a poster mentioned that there's a generation gap in RPGs - the older gamers being S+S junkies and the newer ones being anime/LOTR visual junkies.

Lord of the Rings visual junkies . . . but, how can that be? The book has roughly three pictures, two of them are maps with a lot of text on them, and the third is an illustration of a door covered with writing. ; ] More seriously, I take your point. Film and television (to say nothing of video games) have grown to be more of a visual spectacle in recent years.