Dim Door and the others

diaglo

Adventurer
so our sorceror is taking dim door.

what happens to the rest of us when he moves us.

the wording of the spell says you as in the caster is unable to act that round. but what about me?

if he touches me and we move...can i now act or am i also unable to act until his turn again...


it doesn't say dazed but that is the impression i get.

it also doesn't say disoriented like gate or teleport or whatever other spell that is that says that...
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Or play it that everyone that gets into a DD can't act until their next initiative count. Which may come up real quick (say if Sorcerer acted at 12 and you act at 11).

AR
 

Aha! (slight hijack, sorry)

What happens if the creature using DD is immune to stunning? Able to act immediately?

Andargor
 

You cannot act after the translocation, because of the disorientation caused by it. You need some time to get used to the new surroundings and all that, so you cannot immediately continue to act. This obviously extends to any creature transported with you.

There are a few spells/abilities, which do not have this restriction, but they are quite rare.

Immunity to stun has no influence whatsoever, as this is not stun, but disorientation.

Bye
Thanee
 

My character is the sorcerer in diaglo's group who just picked up D door.

I am comfortable with the DM's ruling. He is leaving the subject open for debate, but for now is going the route of all characters being dazed for effectively one round, so they all miss one round of action.

This gives an advantage to the caster, who loses at most a move-equiv action. If the caster plans carefully, he loses nothing: simply move, then cast. Other than possible free actions, you have no other actions available, so by not being able to act until your next init rolls around you lose nothing. ("We're just waitin' for it to come around again on the guitar.")

While this seems fair to me, it seems that such a drastic consequence should have been described more specifically in the spell description.

But, allowing "passengers" to D door along with the caster without losing any actions appears to make the spell more powerful than intended. The example we have been using is sorcerer D doors himself and his rogue friend, and then the rogue immediately makes a sneak attack against an opponent, having just appeared next to him. (Not to imply that having D doored is enough to gain a sneak attack, the rogue would have to otherwise be in a sneak attack situation.) In my opinion, this interpretation is not overpowered, although it does make D door one of the most powerful 4th level spells.

With the dazed interpretation, I think D door is more average powered for 4th level, still a little behind Phantasmal Killer and the like.
 

Outside of a combat situation, if you dimension door into a group of enemies, the matter is simple, you just roll for initiative and such as normal.

If you use the spell in combat, the character transported with the caster (whose action simply ends after the spell is cast), would probably just act as normal once his initiative comes up. Of course, with delaying this can be "exploited". That seems to be the problem you have with the spell, if I understand this correctly.

Maybe this house rule would work for you...

After translocating (dimension door, teleport), any creature transported cannot act for the remainder of the current round and a new initiative total is generated for the next and following rounds of combat.

Bye
Thanee
 

i was kinda hoping, although i knew it was a long shot, of being able to coup de grace the sorc and take his stuff.

but it appears he isn't helpless and i'm not gonna be able to act.

did i tell you i'm a doppleganger. ;)
 

We play it as the guy who casts dim door can't do anything else, but those who tag along for the ride are free to act.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top