Disarm, Monkey Grip and Rage

Pinotage

Explorer
Say a fighter is wielding a large greatsword two-handed via the Monkey Grip feat and wants to disarm another opponent. The fighter gets +4 due to wielding a two-handed weapon, but does the wielder get the +4 for size as well since he is wielding a large weapon that a large creature would normally wield?

Pinotage
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


I think he refers to:
The wielder of a two-handed weapon on a disarm attempt gets a +4 bonus on this roll, and the wielder of a light weapon takes a -4 penalty.

So, this text seems pretty clear. It takes only in account what type of weapon gives you a bonus (or not). Two-Handed +4, One-Handed +0, Light -4. No word about a large two-handed weapon. If YOU are large ... that's another +4 vs. medium sized opponents, but not if the weapon is large.

As I see it:
Two-handed, because you hold on to that weapon with two hands gives a bonus of +4.

Light weapons are to small (in weight) to hold on to when a massive weapon strikes. -4 to disarm.

One-handed weapons are the norm and don't give a bonus.

Larger opponent has bigger hands and therefore a tougher grip ... +4.
... and so on.

No bonus for an oversized weapon. Just my opinion, of course. :uhoh:
 

Just a note of agreement here with Starglim and isoChron.

Oh, and a suggestion that one be wary of the FAQ on this matter. The FAQ states that a longsword wielded in two hands is a two-handed weapon, and gets the +4 bonus. But obviously, a longsword is a one-handed weapon, whether it's wielded in one or two hands (as the phrase 'a one-handed weapon wielded in two hands' from Power Attack, for example, demonstrates), and the bonus does not apply.

-Hyp.
 

Thanks! A further question on Improved Disarm then. The Barbarian Rage Ability states that you can't use Combat Expertise - does this imply any feat derived from it can't be used either?

Pinotage
 

Nope. There are situations where you can't use a particular feat but can use others for which it is a prerequisite. In order to really benefit from Far Shot, for example, you can't benefit from Point Blank Shot (which is a prerequisite), and the same goes for using Whirlwind Attack and not being able to use or benefit from Spring Attack (a prerequisite) at the time.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top