Disarm Question

JVisgaitis

Explorer
Do you add all attack bonuses into a disarm attempt or just do the opposed roll as stated? I've always assumed its just the opposed roll, but a player was asking. Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say all attack modifiers. From the SRD (my emphasis bolded):

Step 2
Opposed Rolls. You and the defender make opposed attack rolls with your respective weapons.... (plus some stuff about wpn/creature size modifiers and non-melee weapons)
 

An opposed attack roll is just like an attack roll and includes all bonuses. It just happens to be opposed by another attack roll (also including all bonuses) instead of a creature's AC.
 

True Strike + whip (wielded two-handed for an extra +4)

Even non-proficient (-4), this will be lots of disarming fun at low levels.
 

kjenks said:
True Strike + whip (wielded two-handed for an extra +4)

Only if one subscribes to the FAQ answer that "a longsword wielded in two hands is a two-handed weapon".

For what it's worth, last time I queried CustServ on that answer, they said "Actually we have been waiting for that FAQ entry to either be changed or taken out for a while now. No, your one-handed weapon is not a two-handed weapon for figuring hardness, nor does your one-handed weapon cease to be such when wielding it in two hands. We are still in the process of trying to get this entry either removed or edited."

If a one-handed weapon does not cease to be such when wielding it in two hands, then it does not become a two-handed weapon, and the +4 to Disarm checks due a two-handed weapon is inapplicable.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Only if one subscribes to the FAQ answer that "a longsword wielded in two hands is a two-handed weapon".

For what it's worth, last time I queried CustServ on that answer, they said "Actually we have been waiting for that FAQ entry to either be changed or taken out for a while now. No, your one-handed weapon is not a two-handed weapon for figuring hardness, nor does your one-handed weapon cease to be such when wielding it in two hands. We are still in the process of trying to get this entry either removed or edited."

If a one-handed weapon does not cease to be such when wielding it in two hands, then it does not become a two-handed weapon, and the +4 to Disarm checks due a two-handed weapon is inapplicable.

-Hyp.

A reasonable interpretation (at least to me) is to have the modifiers for Power Attack, Disarm and the like depend on the number of hands weilding the weapon and for the "physical" properties like hardness depend on how a weapon is typically weilded.

Of course a list in the FAQ/Rules of the Game etc with what changes when you weild a weapon 2-handed v 1-handed would be better. (maybe I shoud actually ask WoTC or the people here ;) )
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top