Disarmed and tripped - 2 AoO?

Thurbane

First Post
I had a situation recently where one of my players was both disarmed and tripped in the same round.

Next round he picked up his sword and stood up - I ruled that he could pick up the sword while he stood up, taking only one AoO. I'm assuming the RAW ruling would have been two AoO - one for picking up the sword, and one for standing up?

- T
 

log in or register to remove this ad

if picking up a weapon on its own provokes then probably yes it would have been 2.

Although i think the ruling was fair. by any chance did anyone have combat reflexes? because most people would not be able to take 2 aoo.
 


Thurbane said:
Next round he picked up his sword and stood up - I ruled that he could pick up the sword while he stood up, taking only one AoO. I'm assuming the RAW ruling would have been two AoO - one for picking up the sword, and one for standing up?
Your ruling gave the PC a much better benefit than not provoking a second AoO, which only gains when the opponent has Combat Reflexes and Dex of 12 or higher. You compressed two move actions into a single move action, giving him the chance to perform a standard action like attack.
 


The main foe he was fighing (a half-fiend hobgoblin fighter) did have Combat Reflexes, and 18 Dex.

I didn't think about the fact I was giving him 2 move actions for 1, though...
 

Remove ads

Top