Disarming a weapon from a pinned target


log in or register to remove this ad


Question said:
Lets say you have a target pinned. You try to disarm him. Does he still get the AoO unless you have improved disarm?
It doesn't matter whether he's pinned or not, a grappling creature does not threaten any squares, period. He never gets an AoO.
 


Question said:
You need to threaten a square to get a AoO? It doesnt say anything about this in the disarm rules.

Well, if you don't threaten the square that someone is in when they provoke an AOO, you don't get to take the AOO. (If I'm across a large room from Bob the fighter, and I pick up a coin from the floor, Bob does not get an AOO on me, because he does not threaten me. If he were next to me with a weapon in hand, he would get an AOO.)
 

Question said:
You need to threaten a square to get a AoO?
Yes. "An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you."
Question said:
It doesnt say anything about this in the disarm rules.
That's because it's in the AoO rules. And the lack of threatening is in the grapple rules. Perhaps you were just looking in the wrong place?
 


Remove ads

Top