Disarming or Sundering with a Reach Weapon

Alex

First Post
If you are attempting to sunder or disarm an opponent with a reach weapon do they still get an attack of opportunity to do damage against you if they are 10ft away and can't reach you?

If not, would they be able to either sunder or disarm your weapon as their attack of opportunity since that is the only thing they can conceivably hit?

Would you then receive an attack of opportunity of you own?

If so, in what order would the attacks take place?

Alex
:cool:
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1 - AoO of the reach weapon dude for the disarm
2 - AoO of the attacked one... disarm attempt
3 - normal disarm or sunder of the reach dude.

Most people allow to attack reach weapons or, in the case of monsters with natural attacks, to hit the monster with the AoO.
 

Alex said:
If you are attempting to sunder or disarm an opponent with a reach weapon do they still get an attack of opportunity to do damage against you if they are 10ft away and can't reach you?

Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.

Performing a Distracting Act: Some actions, when performed in a threatened square, provoke attacks of opportunity as you divert your attention from the battle. Table 8-2: Actions in Combat notes many of the actions that provoke attacks of opportunity.


Is the square you are in while performing the distracting act a threatened square?

No.

Therefore no AoO is provoked.

-Hyp.
 

thanks for the help guys. the rule is quite clear, thanks Hyper, but i think i'm going to go ahead and allow an attack of opportunity against the weapon or in the case of natural attacks against the attacker. seems reasonable. the only way I could see this becoming a problem is if both opponents have combat reflexes and the situation creates a massive set of AOOs against each others AOOS.

Alex
:cool:
 

Remove ads

Top