Disengage

KahlessNestor

Adventurer
Looking to start running LMoP this week and looking at the goblin stats, I see they have the ability to Disengage as a bonus action. Does Disengage use your full movement (30 ft) or does it use only whatever movement you have left? (e.g. move 15 feet, make a melee attack, disengage 15 feet)?

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Disengage doesn't use any of your movement. Taking the Disengage action just means you are not subject to attacks of opportunity that round. After that, you can use your movement as usual.
 



Neither attacking nor disengaging costs you any movement, and neither of these actions give you extra movement too. You can always move up to your speed during your turn regardless of the action you take. The Dash action is the only exception, it gives you extra movement equal to your speed.

For example:
Consider a goblin. Goblins have speed of 30 feet. That means a goblin can move up to 30 feet during their turn. If a goblin starts its turn at close range from a character, it can:
1. Attack with its action
2. Use bonus action to disengage
3. Move up to its speed (30 feet) without causing opportunity attacks because it disengaged
--
Example 2:
If a goblin started 20-foot away from a character, it can:
1. Move 20-foot toward a character
2. Attack with its action
3. Disengage with a bonus action
4. Run up to 10 feet away from the character. (the remaining movement)

A goblin can also forgo his attack and take the Dash action, and the Disengage action as a bonus action, being able to safely run up to 60 feet away from the character.
 

Looking to start running LMoP this week and looking at the goblin stats, I see they have the ability to Disengage as a bonus action. Does Disengage use your full movement (30 ft) or does it use only whatever movement you have left? (e.g. move 15 feet, make a melee attack, disengage 15 feet)?

Thanks.

Think of the Disengage action as entering "Disengage Mode" for the rest of the turn. In "Disengage Mode", your movement does not provoke opportunity attacks(except when stuff like the Sentinel feat is involved, or a similar ability, of course). Normally Disengage requires using your Action, so you would do it instead of Attack, Cast A Spell, Dash, etc. If the Goblins can do it as a Bonus Action, then they're able to do things like Disengage, move in, attack and move back out without drawing opportunity attacks.
 

This may or may not help clarify things, a goblin is just a second level rogue. If you've figured out how to use the rogue's disengage, you understand the goblin.
 
Last edited:

This may or may not help clarify things, a goblin is just a second level rogue. If you've figured out to use the rogue's disengage, you understand the goblin.

This is a good analogy, but keep in mind that goblins don't have in fact the Cunning Action feature, and thus can't take the Dash action, only Disengage and Hide.
 

Thanks everyone. For some reason I had the impression that Disengage gave extra movement, but then double checking the rule I didn't see anything like that, so thanks for clarifying.
 


Remove ads

Top