Disjuntion and spell cancelling questions

Raspen

First Post
Mordenkaine's Disjunction reads. All Magical effects and magic items within the radius of the spell, except for theose that you carry or touch, are disjoined.

What I what to ask is does this effect buffs such as Mage Armor or Analyze Dweomer?

My other question is about canceling spells can you cast Fire Shield and then when your done with battle just say ok I what it to stop now?

And if so could you cancel any spell you cast that has a duration?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Infiniti2000

First Post
Raspen said:
What I what to ask is does this effect buffs such as Mage Armor or Analyze Dweomer?
Yes, it affects everything except for those the caster carries or touches.

Many campaigns have the gentleman's agreement: don't disjoin me and I won't disjoin you.

It really sucks to be on the receiving end of one of these spells, so don't use it unless you're prepared to lose all your items.

Raspen said:
My other question is about canceling spells can you cast Fire Shield and then when your done with battle just say ok I what it to stop now?

And if so could you cancel any spell you cast that has a duration?
As Corsair points out, it must be dismissable. Fire shield has the (D) and so it requires a standard action to dismiss it. There is more, but it should suffice to provide the rule:
SRD said:
(D) Dismissible
If the Duration line ends with "(D)," you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell’s effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell’s verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.
 

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top