Divine Sacrifice w/ temp hp and Demon summoning

Toben

First Post
Hello all,
2 questions:

1) Are temporary hit points usable during a divine sacrifice or are do they have to be "real" hit points? In our adventure last night the cleric cast Bears Heart on the party and our paladin then performed a 10 hp divine sacrifice using the gained temporary hit points.

2) When demons or devils (I dont know what it was we fought) summon more of their kind into the battle and the summoner is then slain, do the creatures that appeared stick around? Vanish? Do a happy dance? The DM had it disappear but even he wasnt quite sure that this was correct.

Thanks for any help, input, advice, or feedback on this.

-Toben
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Welcome to the boards; I'll slide this over to Rules!

EDIT - well, sort of welcome, O Lurker. I just saw your join date. :D
 
Last edited:

Thanks for the Move Piratecat. I realized after I posted that it was in the wrong forums. I just assumed that one of the Mods would boot it into the correct place. which you have.

-To "Lurker++" ben
 

I would assume they're useable like regular HP. No different then taking damage really IMHO. I haven't heard anything official but who cares? It doesn't make the spell any better then regular healing or anything.

I've always had summoned creatures stick around. It doesn't require concentration or anything to maintain so I don't have them disappear. Then again in a big battle with demons nad summoned demons, etc and the BBEG dies I might go for the more cinematic approach and have them all puff out. By the rules though I'd assume they stuck around.
 

1. Temporary hit points are still hit points. Burn 'em as you see fit.

2. They stick around for the normal duration of their stay, reguardless of the status of the individual that summoned them. Note, however, that a summoned creature cannot use any summoning abilities it may have for 1 hour post-being summoned. It's sorta like eatting then going swimming. If it can cast summoning spells however.. as in has the appropriate levels of the approiate caster class.. those are still available.
 


Well met!
thegreatbuddha said:
Can a demon summoned by a spell use it's innate summoning abilities while under the effects of said spell?
No. From the SRD:
A demon that has just been summoned cannot use its own summon ability for 1 hour.
And as the summoned demon returns to its home after 1 hour, it will not get a chance to summon more of its friends. Lucky you.

Kylearan
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top