DarkLord Of DForce
First Post
Hi. I'm fairly new to 4e, just having returned to D&D after not having played it sinc ethe mid/late 80's...so forgive me if my questions are self-evident.
Let's say you had a vicious Greatsword +2. You wanted to go to a Craghammer +3. In a recent encounter, you acquire a +3 dagger. Your Greatsword weighs 8lbs and a Craghammer weighs 6.
According to the storyline, metal of all kinds is hard to find in Everlund right now, because the Dwarves are working overtime to fill the Knights of Silvers needs because of an expected, upcoming (major) conflict.
I successfully argued that the greatsword would easily provide enough raw material for the Craghammer, and the DM agreed. The Dwarves owed our party a favor because we had saved them from a particularly nasty White Dragon, so they did the conversion. Then our party mage transferred by ritual, which I paid for, (with the DM's blessings), the +3 from the +3 dagger to the Craghammer.
Now, the final part...I've got the +3 Craghammer, and would dearly love to have the Bloodiron mod/enchantment on it. A +3 Bloodiron Craghammer is 17,000 GP in the Adventurers Vault. I argued that since I already have the +3 Craghammer part of this setup, that I shouldn't have to pay the full 17,000 for a +3 Bloodiron Craghammer, but my DM is leaning towards ruling that I should have to pay the full price.
If you were DM, and this was your game, and one of your players, what would you rule on this? Thanks for any advice, and sorry to take so long to get to my point/question.
Let's say you had a vicious Greatsword +2. You wanted to go to a Craghammer +3. In a recent encounter, you acquire a +3 dagger. Your Greatsword weighs 8lbs and a Craghammer weighs 6.
According to the storyline, metal of all kinds is hard to find in Everlund right now, because the Dwarves are working overtime to fill the Knights of Silvers needs because of an expected, upcoming (major) conflict.
I successfully argued that the greatsword would easily provide enough raw material for the Craghammer, and the DM agreed. The Dwarves owed our party a favor because we had saved them from a particularly nasty White Dragon, so they did the conversion. Then our party mage transferred by ritual, which I paid for, (with the DM's blessings), the +3 from the +3 dagger to the Craghammer.
Now, the final part...I've got the +3 Craghammer, and would dearly love to have the Bloodiron mod/enchantment on it. A +3 Bloodiron Craghammer is 17,000 GP in the Adventurers Vault. I argued that since I already have the +3 Craghammer part of this setup, that I shouldn't have to pay the full 17,000 for a +3 Bloodiron Craghammer, but my DM is leaning towards ruling that I should have to pay the full price.
If you were DM, and this was your game, and one of your players, what would you rule on this? Thanks for any advice, and sorry to take so long to get to my point/question.
