D&D 3E/3.5 DND 3.5 Swift Action - Swift Action Spell

enelson

First Post
I can cast a spell as a swift action. As I understand it, swift actions are free actions that take some time so you get 1 swift action a turn. Also, free actions may be taken at any time, not just on your initiative. So does this mean swift actions may be taken any time outside your initiative?

Does this mean I can cast a my swift action spell, perform a standard maneuver and a move maneuver?

For example, I can cast Expeditious Retreat as a swift action spell. I am engaged with a Drow Cleric. Initiative is rolled. I lose initiative.

1. The Drow Cleric is going to attack me.
2. Before he does so, I cast Expeditious Retreat as a swift action spell; pre-empting his attack.
3. I move 40 feet.
4. The Drow cannot reach me and holds position.
5. On my initiative, I pick up a sword. (Move action)
6. Attack the person who dropped the weapon (Standard action).

Is the above allowed by the rules?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

enelson said:
I can cast a spell as a swift action. As I understand it, swift actions are free actions that take some time so you get 1 swift action a turn. Also, free actions may be taken at any time, not just on your initiative. So does this mean swift actions may be taken any time outside your initiative?

Does this mean I can cast a my swift action spell, perform a standard maneuver and a move maneuver?

For example, I can cast Expeditious Retreat as a swift action spell. I am engaged with a Drow Cleric. Initiative is rolled. I lose initiative.

1. The Drow Cleric is going to attack me.
2. Before he does so, I cast Expeditious Retreat as a swift action spell; pre-empting his attack.
3. I move 40 feet.
4. The Drow cannot reach me and holds position.
5. On my initiative, I pick up a sword. (Move action)
6. Attack the person who dropped the weapon (Standard action).

Is the above allowed by the rules?

Swift actions can still only be performed on your turn. So the drow who won initiative would go first. Then on your turn you could perform the swift action, standard action, and move action (or swift action + full round action).

The exception to this is the "immediate action" which is like a swift action, but can be performed on other people's turns.
 

The newer 3.5 rulebooks have sidebars in the first couple pages that describe the different types of actions and how/when they can be used.

I've attached my handy-dandy action types table that I reference when questions arise.
 

Attachments


Free actions can only be performed on your turn in the initiative order unless otherwise specified.

For example talking is a free action that can be performed even when it isn't your turn.

SRD:

Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free.

Speak
In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn’t your turn. Speaking more than few sentences is generally beyond the limit of a free action.


Rules Compendium (pg 7)

"You can perform one or more free actions during your turn."
 

Swift actions and Immediate actions are described in the Hypertext SRD. They're probably also on the official SRD in the psionics section, since they were part of the psionics rules at first.

Linkage

Speaking is the only free action in the core rules that can be performed outside of your own turn. Swift actions cannot be done outside your turn, but Immediate actions can.
 

It goes like this:

1. Drow cleric is about to attack me.
2. He completes his action.
3. I cast Expedition Retreat (swift action)
4. I move 40 feet (move action)
5. I pick up sword (second move action).

I'd also note that the casting of a swift expeditious retreat spell offers the ability to move +30', not movement itself (You seemed confused by that, according to your #2 and #3). You still need to take a move action on your turn to receive the benefit.
 


Remove ads

Top