Do healing items stack?

pAtosaursRex

First Post
So i want to know if all three of these items' bonuses stack toward healing:

Healer's brooch +6

Item stock: neck
Property: When you use a power that enables you or an ally to regain hit points, add the brooch's enhancement bonus to the hit points gained.


Mace of Healing +5

Weapon: Mace
Property: When you use a power that enables you or an ally to regain hit points, add the weapon enhancement bonus to the amount restored.


Healer's Armor +5

Armor: chain
Property: When you use a healing power, the target regains additional hit points equal to the armor's enhancement bonus.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I can't quote the rules, but i can add that the Healer's armour says target whilst the others say an ally. This means that you can't stack when healing enemies (if you ever wanted to).
 

These all stack, but I believe they have also been errataed to only function when granting healing via healing surge being spent (to avoid abuse from non-surge healing)
 


As they are all enhancement bonuses shouldn't you only get one?

Or is the wording bad because you aren't adding an enhancement bonus, but instead technically a non-typed bonus equal to the enhancement value?
 

As they are all enhancement bonuses shouldn't you only get one?

Or is the wording bad because you aren't adding an enhancement bonus, but instead technically a non-typed bonus equal to the enhancement value?

I think the latter is the case, though it is debatable. I'm pretty sure CB does stack them though. There may also be some sort of FAQ entry on this, but I'm really not sure.
 


These all stack, but I believe they have also been errataed to only function when granting healing via healing surge being spent (to avoid abuse from non-surge healing)

That change was only made to the cleric's healing lore feature.

Keep in mind that you do not count as an ally, so you'll need to keep track separately the different totals when you heal yourself or an ally.
 

I think the latter is the case, though it is debatable. I'm pretty sure CB does stack them though. There may also be some sort of FAQ entry on this, but I'm really not sure.

AFAIK, this is not clearly defined. But there is a feat using similar wording.

Dual Implement Spellcaster

Benefit: When you use an arcane attack power and you are wielding a magic implement in each hand, you can add the off-hand implement’s enhancement bonus to damage rolls.
Both of your implements must be usable with this power, and you must be capable of wielding both implements, to gain this benefit.

It says "add the off-hand implement’s enhancement bonus to damage rolls." If the off-hand implement's enhancement bonus cannot be added on top of the enhancement bonus of the main-hand implement, this feat is almost useless.

This example can be hardly called a proof. But I guess the intention of the WotC's authors is that in such cases, enhancement bonus is not actually applied as a bonus, just added as a number.
 

As they are all enhancement bonuses shouldn't you only get one?

Or is the wording bad because you aren't adding an enhancement bonus, but instead technically a non-typed bonus equal to the enhancement value?

RAW: Only damage, to hit, and defenses get "enhancement bonuses"* so all of the items listed would be giving untyped bonuses equal to an enhancement bonus on an item to the healing. As untyped bonuses they would indeed stack.

*This is in the Enhancement section on Page 225 of PHB 1.
 

Remove ads

Top