Do the Infernal Pact Temp. HP stack?

Then why doesn't it say that?

4e speaks more clearly than 3.xe. ...And yet sometimes it stumbles, as you see here.

"Different sources" implies that somewhere there are "same sources". Where are they?
You are completely right. Personally, I feel that the description of the rules stumbles in several places. Which is a real pity, because normally the manual is very clear.

My belief is that the development cycle for the game was, at some point, cut short by at least six months.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Im away from my book but i have a recollection of reading something specifically dedicated to temporary hp that left it pretty clear in my mind that they can never stack. If your cleric gives you 5 and then your pact gives you six, you have six. As it is the infernalock is pretty buff in my opinion, stacking would make it insane. I am certain that this was not intended
 

I'm also away from my books, but this just came up last game, so I'm pretty fresh. See "Temporary Hit Points", page 293-294, notably "Don't Add Together" section.

Without this ruling, the second level warlock had 70 hit points by the end of the battle last week....
 


My belief is that the development cycle for the game was, at some point, cut short by at least six months.

I've been thinking the same thing. It's weird, like they are still scrambling to catch up, not only with nailing-down rules but with support materials, especially the online stuff. 4E has an overall feel of being not quite ready for public release yet.
 

The rules say that "Temporary HP from different sources don't stack". However, if an infernal warlock triggers the pact boon twice, does that count as "one source", but triggered on two occasions (and thus stackable), or "two different sources" (as they are from two different cursed enemies)?

The "Temporary hit points from different sources don't stack" is modifying the general stacking rule, which is "typed bonuses of the same type don't stack, but untyped bonuses from different sources do".

Untyped bonuses (such as temp HP) from the same source don't stack. You won't find a rule about this specific to Temp HP because it's part of the satandard stacking rules.
 

The "Temporary hit points from different sources don't stack" is modifying the general stacking rule, which is "typed bonuses of the same type don't stack, but untyped bonuses from different sources do".

Untyped bonuses (such as temp HP) from the same source don't stack. You won't find a rule about this specific to Temp HP because it's part of the satandard stacking rules.
Bingo - we have a winner.
 

The "Temporary hit points from different sources don't stack" is modifying the general stacking rule, which is "typed bonuses of the same type don't stack, but untyped bonuses from different sources do".

Untyped bonuses (such as temp HP) from the same source don't stack. You won't find a rule about this specific to Temp HP because it's part of the satandard stacking rules.
Yep yep. My usual reply on these threads is:

General: Untyped bonuses from the same source don't stack.

Specific: Temporary hit points from different sources don't stack.

Cheers, -- N
 

4E has an overall feel of being not quite ready for public release yet.

Yep.

The ranger At-wills needed a bit of extra work, the Warlock as a "striker" needed some extra polish, the Fighter's Combat Challenge needed polish, someone with math skills should have double checked skill challenges, there are innumerable class powers that needed just-on-more-person to look over them.....

Yep, 4e was a bit rushed at the end. Another 6 weeks would have done it, methinks.

Reminds me of the old saying that went around us during Graduate school: "Don't get it Right -- Just get it Written."
 

Remove ads

Top