Does a Quickened Spell have a Somatic component?

irdeggman said:
It says that the casting time of the spell is the same as the time to activate the item. It does not say that the time to activate the item is the same as casting the spell. That is the item activation time is not dependent on the spell inside the item.

The casting time of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in an item.

Q. What is the time required to activate the same power in an item?
A. The casting time of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in an item.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the updated Main FAQ:

How long does it take to activate a scroll with an identify
spell on it? How about a scroll with any of the summon
monster spells or a wand of summon monster? This has been
a serious debate for some of us. Page 213 of the Dungeon
Master's Guide, under Using Magic Items, says 'Activating
a magic item is a standard action unless the item
description indicates otherwise. However, the casting time
of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in
an item, whether it's a scroll, a wand, or a pair of boots,
unless the item description specifically states otherwise.'

Yet, the very next section (spell completion items) states:
'This is the activation method for scrolls . . . Activating a
spell completion item is a standard action and provokes
attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.' The
Player's Handbook section on scrolls also says it's a
standard action, yet the Dungeon Master's Guide spell
storing weapon ability on page 225 says 'This special ability
is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from
an item takes at least as long as casting that spell
normally.' Which set of rules is correct?


Activating any magic item is a standard action, unless the
item duplicates a spell effect that has a longer casting time or
unless the item description specifies a different casting time.
The sections on spell completion and spell trigger items should
include the caveat that activating the item takes as long as
casting the stored spell would take. Thus, it takes 1 hour to
activate a scroll with an identify spell on it. A scroll or a wand
with any of the summon monster spells in it takes a full round
to activate, just as casting a summon monster spell does.

A command word item takes a standard action to activate,
no matter what the casting time of the spell it duplicates. In
general, command word items don't duplicate spells with long
casting times.

Use-activated items typically don't have any activation
times (because they function continually or because you
activate them automatically as part of the action you take to use
the item). Like command word items, use-activated items
usually don't duplicate spells with long casting times.
Activating a scroll (or any other spell completion item) is 'like
casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure (such as from
armor)' (see 'Activation' on page 238 of the Dungeon
Master's Guide). An armored rogue who activates a scroll with
Use Magic Device suffers the normal arcane spell failure
chance.


Now, I don't agree with everything he's said there.

But it's another point to throw into the debate :)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top