Domain Spell Clarification

Uriel

Living EN World Judge
I had a question and maybe I can get some clarification and opinions.

A Cleric has access to 2 Domains (say Fire and Good, for example).

The Cleric chooses one to go with as his free Domain spell per day/level etc...
Is the cleric free to use other slots to take the Domain spells additionally? I might want 2 of the Fire spells, for example.
As well, is a Cleric free to choose (not his freebie, but an actual pick) from the Domain that he didn't choose his freebie from for the day?

Thanks for any input.

-Uriel
 

log in or register to remove this ad

By the rules, you can only take a domain spell with your domain spell slots. You cannot take a domain spell with your regular spell slots, unless it is also on the general cleric spell list. I don't have my PHB handy, but the 4th level Good spell is only available on the Good Domain list. So, if your example chose the 4th level Fire spell, you *could not* take the Good spell that day.

House rules can, of course, change this, but that is the way it works by the rules.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top