Double weapon and spells?

Shin Okada

Explorer
Well, each heads of a double weapon are treated as separate weapons when making MW weapons or magical weapons. But how spells like Bless Weapon, Greater Magic Weapon, Spikes and such work on a double weapon? Shall I choose one of the heads when casting such spells? Or is it still considered to be "one weapon" and thus both of it's heads gain the spell's effect?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The only spell I can think of which explicitly references a double weapon in the description is shillelagh, which says that a quarterstaff gains the enhancement on both ends of the weapon. Which leads me to think that in general, other spells will affect one head of a double weapon. The fact that magical double weapons need each head enchanted individually arguably supports that approach.

That being said, since there's no explicit statement about this in the RAW, I think it's reasonable (and not at all overpowered) to have spells affect the entire weapon, i.e. both heads at once.
 


Thanks. So only shillelagh spell has the clear ruling. I will discuss with my friends about how to handle it in our current campaign.
 


Remove ads

Top