Drawing fantasy maps

Whizbang Dustyboots

Gnometown Hero
Bob World Builder has a new video on the subject:

I've purchased a few books on drawing maps and, despite being a decent artist in high school long ago, I've never really been super-comfortable with my map making efforts. I even own Hex Kit (which I think I got in some aid package through itch.io) and am dissatisfied with my results there, as well.

Suggestions on how to draw a map that you're satisfied with? (Other than therapy -- I like my writing plenty; this is a maps thing.)

Daraniya

Explorer
same here... except I'm not good at art, period...

I bought hexographer, tried freehanding things in gimp/inkscape/krita, using microsoft whiteboard, etc

I gave up and got simple... I buy a lot of maps, and support those that make them... I've also made good use of Azagar's map generator and bin.sh for planets...

J.P. Coovert has some good videos on fantasy mapmaking that you may find useful. Bob World Builder has one of his books displayed in the background of the linked video which I assume is a low-key shout out.

I use Wonderdraft these days myself. Even if I had artistic talent (which I don't) the software is much faster that drawing tons of trees and mountains by hand.

I used to think that maps should be objective and detailed, but these days I think it is fine to be vague and sketchy like real historical maps. First it is hella lot easier to make them then, and secondly it gives freedom to add and alter small details if future development warrants such.

The map of my current setting Artra that I have been using is pretty simple and doesn't have much detail. It didn't take terribly long to draw it.

Perhaps I at some point draw more detailed one, but so far this has served its purpose well enough.

Orius

Legend