Druid Wildshape Questions (pretty newb)

Pierson

First Post
As I read the rules:

When a Druid Wildshapes into, lets say, a bear, do all his/her magic items become part of the bear form and inoperable?

Quote from alter Self which wildshape is based on via polymorph, "your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes non-functional"

Its kind of ambigious as to whether a bear could wear a necklace. And, if magic rings grow from halfling fingers to half orc fingers, why not grow so a Dire ape could wear them etc...

My question is this: What is the official or accepted ruling about magic items while wildshaping and is there a common house rule to alllow more leeway?

Also,

A Druid wildshaping changes constitution score to match the creature as presented in the Monster Manual. By the rules, should my hit points change? Does your group house-rule that out? It seems dumb to me.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The only guideline about what items a creature could use (taking into account that most "clothing-type" items (boots, helms, vests, robes) change their size to fir the wearer) is the DM's common sense.

IMHO, a druid wildshaped into an ape would still be capable of using most of his items (notable exception of the armor, which doesn't change).

And no, your hit points don't change (even though your Con does). Check out Polymorph for the info.
 

Pierson said:
Its kind of ambigious as to whether a bear could wear a necklace. And, if magic rings grow from halfling fingers to half orc fingers, why not grow so a Dire ape could wear them etc...
Yes, it is. Instead of giving you my opinion, which is useless to you most likely, you can try the Rules of the Game articles. Try looking at the four polymorph articles and then especially this Magical Oddities one.
 

Thanks for the Rules of the Game Link Very Useful.

From the WOTC site Rules of the Game:

Unlike previous versions of the D&D game, the subject's hit points change according to his new Constitution score.
 


Pierson said:
A Druid wildshaping changes constitution score to match the creature as presented in the Monster Manual. By the rules, should my hit points change? Does your group house-rule that out? It seems dumb to me.

Here we go again. :D

EDIT: Opinion is divided as to whether hp change due to Con change. FWIW I am of the opinion that they don't.


glass.
 
Last edited:

Pierson said:
How about casting magic fang on my own hand, then switching forms? Will the magic fang go from hand to claw?

No it won't, because you can't cast magic fang on a hand (unless you are a monk). You need to have a natural weapon.

IMO magic fang will persist if you switch from one form with claws to another though.


glass.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top