Antikinesis
First Post
SRD quotes applicable to caster level for spell storing (emphasis mine, in all cases)...
There ya go. By the rules, a Spell Storing weapon casts the spell as an 8th level caster.
I think the individual DM's will have to decide if Chill Touch lasts for more than one hit, though.
-AK
I don't believe this would be applicable to spell-storing weapons, because of the "and nothing else".Magic Item Descriptions
Some individual items, notably those that simply store spells and nothing else, don’t get full-blown descriptions. Simply reference the spell’s description for details, modified by the form of the item (potion, scroll, wand, and so on). Assume that the spell is cast at the minimum level required to cast it, unless the character chooses to make it higher for some reason (which increases the cost of the item; see Table: Calculating Magic Item Gold Piece Values). The main reason to make it higher, of course, would be to increase the power of the spell.
Sounds like we need to know the caster level of the magic item to determine the effects of the stored spell.Caster Level
The power of the item (just as a spell’s caster level measures its power). The caster level determines the item’s saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation.
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of the item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell and not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself.
Nothing tricky here.Caster Level for Weapons
The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description.
Spell Storing
A spell-storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. [...snip...]
Caster Level: 8th; Prerequisites: Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Market Price: +1 bonus.
There ya go. By the rules, a Spell Storing weapon casts the spell as an 8th level caster.
I think the individual DM's will have to decide if Chill Touch lasts for more than one hit, though.
-AK