Eagle's Splendor Duration > 24 Hours

Ok, I know this is a really old question that I should know the answer to, but I can't find a reference anywhere.

What specifically happens if you are a sorcerer and the duration of Eagle's Splendor goes for a full 24 hours? I seem to remember some reference, perhaps it was psionics not arcane/divine, that stated you actually gained bonus spells based on your enhanced charsima, and not your base. Am I remembering correctly or did I dream this one up?

Thanks,
NCSUCodeMonkey
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I believe it was the sage that said you should get more spell casting capacity (more spells per day) based off a stat that is raised via magic items, but not via spells.


Example 1: Cha 16 sorcerer with a Cloak of Charisma +4 would have bonus spells as if their Charisma were 20.

Example 2: Cha 16 sorcerer with an Eagle's Splendor spell that give +4 charisma and lasts for however long, would have bonus spells as if their charisma were 16.
 


I have seen it written that stat-boosts don't give you bonus spells unless you have then for a full 24 hours.

The vanilla "eagles splendour" spell cannot last that long (1h/level) hence the clarification it gives at that point that you gain no spells.

However, if the spell is extended by metamagic to last for 24 hours or more it then comes under the "stat booster for full 24 hrs" ruling, and should thus provide the bonus spells.

I think that the reason mental attribute boosting spells were not included in the PHB was to avoid this problem occuring, but they were introduced into FR as an "obvious" spell without fully considering the potential ramifications for spell casters.

disclaimer: I don't have the FR book to hand... if it says "Eagles Splendour doesn't give bonus spells under any circumstances whatsoever" I'll withdraw this argument :)
 

Tome and Blood says in the spell description: "Sorcerers and bards who receive eagle's splendor do not gain extra spells, but the save DCs for their spells increase."

It doesn't say anything about a 24 hour limit; it just says you don't get spells.

If you extend it, your save DCs go up for twice as long.

-Hyp.
 

Plane Sailing, the mental buffs weren't introduced in the FR book. They were first published in Tome and Blood.

And they all specifically state that spellcasters do NOT get bonus spells from them ... just enhanced save DCs, where appropriate.
 

Plane Sailing said:
I have seen it written that stat-boosts don't give you bonus spells unless you have then for a full 24 hours.
What I've seen written is that magic items must be worn for the previous 24 hours, or bonus spells are not received. This is to prevent casters from passing around the Headband of Intellect +6 prior to preparing spells in the morning. But as others have pointed out, stat-boosting spells do not grant bonus spells, period.

It's a sound ruling, and I like it. :p
 

Pax said:
Plane Sailing, the mental buffs weren't introduced in the FR book. They were first published in Tome and Blood.

And they all specifically state that spellcasters do NOT get bonus spells from them ... just enhanced save DCs, where appropriate.

No, they were first published in the FR book, that came out first. Tome and Blood reprinted some of their spells.

Anyway, as I said, I happily withdraw my comments if the spell description explicitly forbids it (although why there should be a difference between magic enhancement through spell and magic enhancement through items I can't fathom).

Cheers
 

Cool, thanks for the answers. That actually gives me a bit of piece-of-mind. I knew it sounded too broken to be true. :) Now that I think about it, I believe that it was a Sage ruling either for magical items or Animal Affinity.

NCSUCodeMonkey
 

Plane Sailing said:
... (although why there should be a difference between magic enhancement through spell and magic enhancement through items I can't fathom).

Cheers

Same problem here. It's just that the spellcaster would be disadvantaged in comparison to the melee twinks in case their precious statboosting items don't give the full bang...

D&D balance is made up with those buff items in mind. With spells now, you have the problem that someone with the buff spells could prepare the spell in a bonus slot that he wouldn't have had without the spell...

Ah well. Forget what I said. It's not logical, I was just trying to reiterate why they made these unsound rulings.
 

Remove ads

Top