Eldritch counter-blast?

kigmatzomat said:
The target spell's success is based on the standard rules of dispelling, NOT according to the rules on counterspelling.

Essentially you are holding action until the exact moment of casting, firing off a dispel magic at that specific spell.
What tells you to do that I wonder if you aren't using the rules on counterspelling? ;)

kigmatzomat said:
This is little different from holding action until the opponent casts a spell and then firing an Eldritch blast/magic missle/fireball to disrupt spellcasting through damage or by using silence to counter verbal components, or even throwing up a wall spell to break line of sight.
It's a lot different, because it can't be done. The exception in the SPA section overrides this.

What do you say happens if someone with a dispel magic SPA is counterspelling a dispel magic spell? Normally, you don't need a caster level check . . .
 

log in or register to remove this ad

kigmatzomat said:
This is little different from holding action until the opponent casts a spell and then firing an Eldritch blast/magic missle/fireball to disrupt spellcasting through damage or by using silence to counter verbal components, or even throwing up a wall spell to break line of sight.
Oh I think there is a diffrence. All those other ways inhibit the caster's ability to cast and / or apply the spell. Dispel safely negates the spell. Since the warlock always has his blast to try to disrupt a caster he is not losing the opportunity to stop spells, he is just in the same crowd as other demons and such who have SLA of Dispel magic and greater dispel magic.

I am fairly confident a rules savvy player would cite the SLA rules stating they can’t counter if a fiend was about to use It’s dispel magic SLA to counter the teleport spell that would save the party from certain death.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Does it use the Dispel Magic spell description or not? If it does, it's explicitly called counterspelling. And you cannot do that with spell-like abilities. So, look up the particular invocation and see if it has its own description of "dispel magic" that differs from the actual spell.
Specific rules always override more general rules.

Here, the general rule is that SLAs cannot be used as counterspells.

The specific rule is the the description of voracious dispelling (or similar invocation). It refers back to the dispel magic description, which states that it can be used as a counterspell. Since this applies only to this particular, individual ability, it is the more specific rule, so its effects override the general one.
 

frankthedm said:
I am fairly confident a rules savvy desperate player would incorrectly cite the SLA rules stating they can’t counter if a fiend was about to use It’s dispel magic SLA to counter the teleport spell that would save the party from certain death.
Fixed a couple of errors for you. But in general, I agree with the statement.
 


I know it's not actually counterspelling but if your readying an action you may as well blast the caster when you see him cast and thus force a concentration check against 10+level of spell+damage dealt or lose the spell, which is the aim of the counterspell

Zamtap
 

frankthedm said:
...No they can't counter by the rules, but i would allow a warlock to ready a blast to strike another blast. When the blasts meet both walocks roll damage, who ever rolls lower eats the damage of both blasts.

Very Anime. :D
 



By the logic spouted above, it would also be impossible to use a SLA Haste to counterspell a Slow spell because it is a variant of counterspelling.


Here's another question:

If you use Dispel magic to counterspell someone else's Dispel Magic, do you roll the caster check or have it automatically succeed?
 

Remove ads

Top