D&D 5E eldritch knight: how is this rule interpreted?

Doctor Atomic

On page 75 of the PHB under eldritch knight spell casting it says this:

You know three 1st-level wizard spells of your choice, two of which you must choose from the abjuration and evocation spells on the wizard spell list.

Does this mean I can choose spells from outside the abjuration and evocation list? Does it mean 2/3rds of my spells must come from those lists? How is this usually interpreted?


log in or register to remove this ad


Exactly what it says.

You know 3 wizard spells. Two of which are restricted to those particular schools.

Which means that 1 isn't restricted by school.


The next paragraph:

The Spells Known column of the Eldritch Knight
Spellcasting table shows when you learn more wizard
spells of 1st level or higher. Each of these spells must be
an abjuration or evocation spell of your choice, and must
be of a level for which you have spell slots. For instance,
when you reach 7th level in this class, you can learn one
new spell of 1st or 2nd level.
The spells you learn at 8th, 14th, and 20th level can
come from any school of magic.

An Advertisement