• Welcome to this new upgrade of the site. We are now on a totally different software platform. Many things will be different, and bugs are expected. Certain areas (like downloads and reviews) will take longer to import. As always, please use the Meta Forum for site queries or bug reports. Note that we (the mods and admins) are also learning the new software.
  • The RSS feed for the news page has changed. Use this link. The old one displays the forums, not the news.

WOIN Elements of Magic, Range?

Drekin

Villager
Yo, I'm still here

It's another Drekin question :)

When using the advanced magic rules found in the Elements of Magic chapter, is the range supposed to be range increment or total range?
If it's increments, does overreaching the range then give you penalty to the cast check or attack roll?

Please advise
Drekin
 

Len

Prodigal Member
The range of a spell is the maximum distance at which it can be cast. It's not a range increment like weapons.

Note that the term "range increment" occurs only in reference to ranged weapons, and the weapon tables list this property under the heading "Range Inc" not "Range". On the other hand, the magic chapter only mentions "range", never "range increment".
 

Advertisement

Top