Elven re-roll and the demigod capstone power

Kaffis said:
Divine Miracle doesn't specify *when* it returns your encounter power. I see no reason to allow it to return the expended encounter power before the current action is completed.

So reroll every attack you make, but only once per action.
From your first statement I would have expected a "reroll every attack you make, as often as you want per action".

By your ruling, that it returns the encounter power at once that would only make sense.

Why do you say otherwise?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"Divine Miracle (30th level): When you have expended your last remaining encounter power, you regain the use of one encounter power of your choice. In this way, you never run out of encounter powers."

I don't see you running out of Elvish Accuracy then since it says in Divine Miracle that you never run out of encounter powers. However, RAW makes the reuse of the power the DMs call due to definition of Free Action.

"Free Action: Free actions take almost no time or effort. You can take as many free actions as you want during your or another combatant’s turn. The DM can restrict the number of free actions in a turn. Examples: speaking a few sentences, dropping a held item, letting go of a grabbed enemy."

This is slightly different they using the blanket statement of " The DM can always change the rules" because as written the DM is to impose a limit that he desires on free actions right from the start. You aren't changing the text of the definition of free action. It's not a rules variant or a house rule for the DM to limit free actions, whereas if a DM decided you can use the Heal skill on yourself to give a save bonus would be the DM changing the rules as written.
 

Maybe

I think the fact that the Elven Accuracy ability specifically states "use the second roll even if it is lower" precludes any further rerolling.

So, a 30th level Demigod could certainly reroll every attack roll a single time, if he felt that was worth having to blow all his other encounter abilities first.

-Jake
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Norhg said:
From your first statement I would have expected a "reroll every attack you make, as often as you want per action".

By your ruling, that it returns the encounter power at once that would only make sense.

Why do you say otherwise?

When did I rule that it returns the encounter power at once?

I said that the rules don't explicitly tell you that the encounter power is returned in a way that interrupts the action, so I have no problem ruling that it returns the power after the current action completes.
 

mendahu said:
I think the fact that the Elven Accuracy ability specifically states "use the second roll even if it is lower" precludes any further rerolling.

Except the point of Elven Accuracy is to break the rule of being stuck with what you rolled. Normally you just use whatever you roll the first time. The rule simple states that when you roll an attack roll, you can choose, as a free action, to reroll it and take the second attack roll, which you are then stuck with like you would have been had you not used the power. In that vein, another reroll power (either a regenerated use of elven accuracy, or another power altogether) could be used on the current roll as far as I interpret the RAW.

If you REALLY want to get into semantics I suppose you could stretch it and say that using the power twice would result in that roll counting as a third, rather than a second second, which the player couldn't use, but the way the power is written implies it's the second of the two rolls involved, and not the second in a long series of exploited rolls.
 
Last edited:

I think the reroll power has to be used up before it comes back into your pile of powers; I would rule personally that means that the original power you are rerolling has to resolve one way or the other.
 

IanB said:
I think the reroll power has to be used up before it comes back into your pile of powers; I would rule personally that means that the original power you are rerolling has to resolve one way or the other.

Pretty much the best way to look at it, IMO. Has the most "teeth" of any arbitration that I've seen regarding this situation.
 

You don't regain the spent encounter power until after it's been spent. So you don't regain elven accuracy until the roll has already been settled and rerolling it a second time is no longer possible. Seems like a nice way to eliminate the infinite loop.
 

My ruling for the Demigod power will be: regeneration occurs at the end of your turn, when you have used all your actions.

My inner rules-lawyer says: "Okay, fine, you can use Elven Accuracy an infinite number of times. You can use it twice to get a third roll, ten times to get an eleventh roll... but you will use the second roll, just like the power says."

Cheers, -- N
 

Nifft said:
My ruling for the Demigod power will be: regeneration occurs at the end of your turn, when you have used all your actions.
That runs counter to "This way, you will never run out of encounter powers." If you ever have no encounter powers, you are out of them. Thus, you regain them instantaneously. 'Course, Elven Accuracy still doesn't work infinitely, since you have to use the second roll regardless.
 

Remove ads

Top