Energy Current & concentration

Radiating Gnome

Adventurer
Help me out with this -- our group has a difference of opinion on the reading of a a psion power. Here's Energy Current from the SRD:

http://www.d20srd.org/srd/psionic/powers/energyCurrent.htm

Here's the situation: a primary target of the spell moves out of the Psion's range while the Psion is maintaining the power. In the case of most spells, that would break the spell. But the language of the spell description's second paragraph has the player arguing that, so long as he maintains concentration, if the target returns to be within range, he would again be subject to the power again. The DM argues that, like all other concentration spells, the spell is broken if the target leaves the range of the caster.

Here's the line in question:
"Targeted foes can move normally, possibly moving out of range of the effect, but each round they are targeted and remain in range they must make a saving throw to avoid taking full damage in that round."

It's not as concrete as I would like it to be, but as I read that description, the word "remain" is the key to my reading -- "remain" implies not leaving. At the same time, the phrase "possibly moving out of range of the effect" is enough to give this player some footing to support his argument.

What do you all think?

-rg
 

log in or register to remove this ad


So . . . just to make sure I'm clear . . .

There are three targets in range. Psion picks target A as the primary target and B as the secondary.

Later that round B moves out of the area.

On the Psion's next turn, since he continues to concentrate, the energy shifts, making target C the secondary target (it would be random, but there's only one option.)

Later that round A moves out of the area.

On the psion's next turn, the energy would make target C the primary target, and there is no secondary target (it's not clear to me that this would be the case, and that C would not just be a secondary target, but I think it makes sense).

Later that round C moves out of the area.

On the next round the Psion continues to spend a full round action to maintain the power, even though the targets are out of the area.

Later that round all three targets move back into the area.

On the Psion's next turn, there is no current primary target and no current secondary target, the new primary and secondary targets are chosen randomly.

Later that round, the three targets finally get pissed off and pulp the Psion. ;)

I'd be happier with that reading if "remain in the area" were "are in the area", but I guess that works.

Re-reading the spell . . . I'm not sure if this is correct. For the spell to select a new target, the existing target would have to die or evade the spell completely through some special ability -- it doesn't indicate that moving out of the area will move the spell on to the next target . . . so the "right" sequence of events in my example should look like this, I think:

There are three targets in range. Psion picks target A as the primary target and B as the secondary.

Later that round B moves out of the area.

On the Psion's next turn, since he continues to concentrate, target A is affected by the spell, but the secondary target, B, is not affected.

Later that round A moves out of the area.

On the psion's next turn, no one takes damage. The Psion maintains concentration.

Later that round C moves out of the area.

On the next round the Psion continues to spend a full round action to maintain the power, even though the targets are out of the area.

Later that round all three targets move back into the area.

On the Psion's next turn, Primary target A and secondary target B take damage again.

Later that round, the three targets finally get pissed off and pulp the Psion. ;)

-rg
 

Here's my reading on it:

Given that the power requires a primary target, but not a secondary target, and given that the primary target can only change if, and only if, a target is reduced to less than 0 hit points, or completely negates the effect through a special ability or power, then the simple act of moving out of range of the power by the primary target disrupts the power, since the range of the power to the primary target is now broken and the sequence of events needed to change the primary target has not come to pass.

If a secondary target moved out of range and returned back into range, then they would again be affected. If the secondary target moved out of range and the primary target dropped, and no other foes were in range, the power would also end.

If the power REQUIRED both targets to be in range, then it would be another can of worms, but the secondary target is optional (it can happen AFTER the power starts, but during the duration if someone moves in range), while the primary target is mandatory.

At least, that's my interpretation.
 

Also please consider the following when responding (from the PHB, p. 176, under concentration, last sentence)

"If a target moves out of range, the spell reacts as if your concentration had been broken."
 

Arksorn said:
Also please consider the following when responding (from the PHB, p. 176, under concentration, last sentence)

"If a target moves out of range, the spell reacts as if your concentration had been broken."
Indeed!!!

Player successfully ****blocked

Concentration
The power lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a power is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when manifesting a power can also break your concentration while you’re maintaining one, causing the power to end. You can’t manifest a power while concentrating on another one. Some powers may last for a short time after you cease concentrating. In such a case, the power keeps going for the given length of time after you stop concentrating, but no longer. Otherwise, you must concentrate to maintain the power, but you can’t maintain it for more than a stated duration in any event. If a target moves out of range, the power reacts as if your concentration had been broken.
 

Arksorn said:
Also please consider the following when responding (from the PHB, p. 176, under concentration, last sentence)

"If a target moves out of range, the spell reacts as if your concentration had been broken."
Excellent find! I've had the very same discussion with my psion player a couple of months ago. I reached the same conclusion and ruled thus but haven't been able to back it by a quotation :)
 

well, then, for the sake of argument, is there anyone out there who sees anything in the power description itself that indicates an exception to the standard concentration rules? There is a clear exception in that maintaining concentration on Energy Current is a Full Round action, not a standard action. Any other language that indicates other exceptions to anyone? Any insight into why it would be a full round action to maintain Energy Current?

-rg
 

Remove ads

Top