enlarged person - grapple

The real question remains unanswered: do you have to move in step 4 if allowed/possible?
The other thread mentioned here also remains undecided.

The rule could imply that you have to move into the other's space to maintain a grapple regardless of the fact that: 1. you want to move (possible aoo, bad positioning) or 2. you want to maintain the grapple (not threatening, loss of dex ...).

But if moving is impossible or forbidden there's no real penalty either. This could drive people in finding ways to make the move impossible, a restriction, to their own advantage. That doesn't make any sense.

At first when this came up in our game I thought it to be unfair that you could grapple/damage your opponents and just let go, I'm still undecided. There will be situations where an easier touch attack + improved grapple check is more advantageous than hitting the full AC of your opponent, but not always. 2 easier rolls vs 1 harder one, it comes down to mathematics.

So would making the moving part of step 4 to be optional, be acceptable?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
No, you can't skip step 4, but it's perfectly allowable to just not step into your opponent's square - especially when it's impossible to do so. :)

Just to be clear. You are saying to grab, damage, and release. Then repeat for the next attack. Correct?
 



brendan candries said:
There will be situations where an easier touch attack + improved grapple check is more advantageous than hitting the full AC of your opponent, but not always. 2 easier rolls vs 1 harder one, it comes down to mathematics.

It does, however, require at least a feat if you want to do it without provoking multiple AoOs.

So would making the moving part of step 4 to be optional, be acceptable?

It is optional. It's not optional if you want to continue the grapple for the next round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top