Evard's Black Tentacles

I used Evard's Black Tentacles for the first time in my game last night (I don't normally play Wizards and my spell knowledge sucks! :o ). Having not used the spell before I just wanted to check that I was using it correctly. Here is the description:

[sblock=Evard's Black Tentacles]Conjuration (Creation)
Level: Sor/Wiz 4
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Area: 20-ft.-radius spread
Duration: 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No

This spell conjures a field of rubbery black tentacles, each 10 feet long. These waving members seem to spring forth from the earth, floor, or whatever surface is underfoot—including water. They grasp and entwine around creatures that enter the area, holding them fast and crushing them with great strength.

Every creature within the area of the spell must make a grapple check, opposed by the grapple check of the tentacles. Treat the tentacles attacking a particular target as a Large creature with a base attack bonus equal to your caster level and a Strength score of 19. Thus, its grapple check modifier is equal to your caster level +8. The tentacles are immune to all types of damage.

Once the tentacles grapple an opponent, they may make a grapple check each round on your turn to deal 1d6+4 points of bludgeoning damage. The tentacles continue to crush the opponent until the spell ends or the opponent escapes.

Any creature that enters the area of the spell is immediately attacked by the tentacles. Even creatures who aren’t grappling with the tentacles may move through the area at only half normal speed.

Material Component
A piece of tentacle from a giant octopus or a giant squid.[/sblock]

I just want to check the process of how it works. In the round that the caster casts the spell everyone in the AoE has to make a grapple check to avoid being grappled by the tentacles. The DC for this check is CL+8+1d20. So for an 8th-level caster the DC is 16+1d20.

If a person in the AoE fails the grapple check they are considered grappled. Do you make another check there and then to see if they take damage or do they not take any damage until the next round?

In the grappled person's turn they get to make a grapple check to escape the grapple, correct? If they fail this check, they don't take any damage, they are just still considered grappled?

What happens if someone shoots at them with a ranged weapon? Is there a 50% chance to hit the tentacles (the same as shooting into a grapple), even if the tentacles are immune to the damage?

Olaf the Stout
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My group does damage on the initial grapple check, though I can't remember that's something we adopted to save time or if its actually how the rule works. Though it's probably covered in the book and SRD.

If they fail their grapple check on their action, they are still grappled but don't take damage.

I'd vote yes. The tentacles are immune to damage so its not a big deal if you miss, but I don't see why they'd be exempt from the normal grappling rules unless the spell description specifically mentioned it that way. (Noting that they are immune to damage implies that can be hit, just not damaged.)
 

Olaf the Stout said:
I just want to check the process of how it works. In the round that the caster casts the spell everyone in the AoE has to make a grapple check to avoid being grappled by the tentacles. The DC for this check is CL+8+1d20. So for an 8th-level caster the DC is 16+1d20.

So far so good.

If a person in the AoE fails the grapple check they are considered grappled. Do you make another check there and then to see if they take damage or do they not take any damage until the next round?

The description is clear: they only take damage on your turn. Until then they are just grappled.

In the grappled person's turn they get to make a grapple check to escape the grapple, correct? If they fail this check, they don't take any damage, they are just still considered grappled?

Yes, looks like they follow the normal grapple rules.

What happens if someone shoots at them with a ranged weapon? Is there a 50% chance to hit the tentacles (the same as shooting into a grapple), even if the tentacles are immune to the damage?

Since the tentacles behave like a Large creature grappling, I don't see why not.
 

Someone said:
The description is clear: they only take damage on your turn. Until then they are just grappled.

So...Isn't it the casters turn when the AOE is established and the initial grapple checks are made?
 

Ok, it's less clear than I thought. Still, I don't think they suffer damage the same round the spell is cast, the wording suggest it's each subsequent round.
 

From the grappling rules:
"Step 3
Hold. Make an opposed grapple check as a free action.
If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling, and you deal damage to the target as if with an unarmed strike. "


So initial grappling damage is inflicted immediately after grappling someone normally. It seems black tentacles would be handled similarly.
 

mvincent said:
From the grappling rules:
"Step 3
Hold. Make an opposed grapple check as a free action.
If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling, and you deal damage to the target as if with an unarmed strike. "


So initial grappling damage is inflicted immediately after grappling someone normally. It seems black tentacles would be handled similarly.

That's exactly the kind of thing I was looking for. Thanks mvincent. You have been very useful to me in 2 separate threads this morning. :D

It looks like you don't make a second grapple check to see if they take damage. They just take it automatically. Damage also occurs in the first round that the spell is cast.

That's how I read it anyway. Anyone else beg to differ?

Olaf the Stout
 

Remove ads

Top