• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

EverQuest d20 - low level adventure ideas

Evil_Dead_Jedi

First Post
Hi everyone. I am working on a low level adventure for EverQuest d20 for a group of three players. I will probably GM an NPC to go with them, so a total of either 4 or 5 heroes will be in the adventure. One player has played D&D2e and VtM off and on for years (mainly 2e honestly) but the other two are complete newbies to the hobby. That being said, my idea so far was something along these lines:

The heroes come into contact (somehow, not sure yet) with a person (so far only the nickname The Linguist) who is basically someone that has dedicated his life to studying the language of the dragons. Recently, he has partially deciphered a story or prophecy that tells of the awakening of a dracolich. (I know they are beginner PC's, but bear with me here) The Linguist hires them to find an old dungeon lost to time (probably on Faydwer) to retrieve a staff that holds the key to awakening the dracolich.

Once the staff is brought back to The Linguist, he will in turn watch over it for safe keeping. Meaning, he will try to research more history on it, and unwittingly set in to motion events that will enable me to write more adventures linked to this story.

So far my ideas for this are:
1 A good bit of roleplaying interaction with The Linguist.
2 A decent trek across the land to the cave system which holds the "temple." (not really a temple per se, but somewhere the staff was hidden away for safe keeping to prevent it from falling in to the wrong hands.
3 Searching the complex cave system for the temple that houses the staff.