Kalendraf
Explorer
Request clarification on item saves
A couple of you have posted that items only have to roll if the character rolled a 1 on their save - where is that listed? I've tried to find anything about that in the DMG and PHB previously, but did not locate anything to that effect (natural 1's). Maybe it's errata I'm unaware of (I know both my PHB and DMG are pre-errata printings). I'm essentially running with the rule listed in the books that I've read that states items get the saving throw of their controller or their own whichever is better. So in the case of someone saving, all of their items are safe, but in the case of a fail, then all items exposed to the attack make their own saves using their magical bonuses, etc. I've read about other DM's using this exact method which is how I inferred it from what I read in the books. So I was assuming that since both they and I reached a similar conclusion we must all be correct in that interpretation.
FYI, we've only had a few previous times where item saves have come into play, and prior to this only a few minor scrolls and potions got destroyed. I just assumed that with the relative ease of crafting items and fixing them that this danger to magic items was effectively a balancing factor in 3E. And it helps get across the message that your character is much more than just a collection of their items.
If I'm doing this wrong, please point me to the exact page and paragraph that states otherwise.
A couple of you have posted that items only have to roll if the character rolled a 1 on their save - where is that listed? I've tried to find anything about that in the DMG and PHB previously, but did not locate anything to that effect (natural 1's). Maybe it's errata I'm unaware of (I know both my PHB and DMG are pre-errata printings). I'm essentially running with the rule listed in the books that I've read that states items get the saving throw of their controller or their own whichever is better. So in the case of someone saving, all of their items are safe, but in the case of a fail, then all items exposed to the attack make their own saves using their magical bonuses, etc. I've read about other DM's using this exact method which is how I inferred it from what I read in the books. So I was assuming that since both they and I reached a similar conclusion we must all be correct in that interpretation.
FYI, we've only had a few previous times where item saves have come into play, and prior to this only a few minor scrolls and potions got destroyed. I just assumed that with the relative ease of crafting items and fixing them that this danger to magic items was effectively a balancing factor in 3E. And it helps get across the message that your character is much more than just a collection of their items.
If I'm doing this wrong, please point me to the exact page and paragraph that states otherwise.