Extra Dimensional Space - in E.Dim.Space

stegma

First Post
What exactly happens when you have .. for example a bag of holding and you enter an extra dimensional space with it. I hear the two collapse and blow up with you inside it.

Im wondering – do you survive? What exactly happens you your character in that situation.

It came up in a game a long long time ago where a trap set off transported us into an extra dimensional space… now I had a bag of holding but I didn’t really know this happens until recently.

I don’t think the DM plans on doing anything about this now…. But for future – I just want to know what kind of a risk I pose to myself and others with this around.

PLUS – has any DM done a house rule on this to maybe… change the affect of this situation?

Stegma
 

log in or register to remove this ad


From Rope Trick:
"Note: It is hazardous to create an extradimensional space within an existing extradimensional space or to take an extradimensional space into an existing one."

From Bag o' Holding:
"If a bag of holding is placed within a portable hole a rift to the Astral Plane is torn in the space: Bag and hole alike are sucked into the void and forever lost. If a portable hole is placed within a bag of holding, it opens a gate to the Astral Plane: The hole, the bag, and any creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there, destroying the portable hole and bag of holding in the process."

I don't know about blowing up, but it appears that they do collapse and and dump onto the astral plane.
 

There is no RAW answer for taking a bag of holding ot other item inside an extradimensional shelter such as a rope trick or M.M.Mansion. The comment that it's 'hazardous' is vague at best, and the sage has on at least one occasion suggested that it ought to be allowed without consequence.

I like Rope Trick and MMM. I don't know of any mid level or higher parties without magic bags. IMC I therefore follow the sage's advice... you can bring your haversack in and out of a rope trick safely.
 

Patlin said:
There is no RAW answer for taking a bag of holding ot other item inside an extradimensional shelter such as a rope trick or M.M.Mansion. The comment that it's 'hazardous' is vague at best, and the sage has on at least one occasion suggested that it ought to be allowed without consequence.

I like Rope Trick and MMM. I don't know of any mid level or higher parties without magic bags. IMC I therefore follow the sage's advice... you can bring your haversack in and out of a rope trick safely.
Here is where skippy says those things.
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20051101a

I think is a bunch of player coddling BS.
 

The only clear description of what happens comes from the bag of holding + portable hole combination, exclusively, everything else is 'hazy' as it were concerning what happens.
Portable hole in portable hole nothing is mentioned, bag of holding in bag of holding, nothing mentioned.

I'd probably say screw it, the rules just say it's hazardous nothing happens, maybe there's a slight chance of gaining the interest of some sort of Astral or Ethereal Plane denizen in the area, but other than that ..

Does anybody know if WoTC has been asked about this?
 


frankthedm said:
I think is a bunch of player coddling BS.
Agreed. I suppress the effect of the interior space. That is, your Holding Bag is nonfunctional and appears empty when you open it inside a Rope Trick.
 

Bad Paper said:
Agreed. I suppress the effect of the interior space. That is, your Holding Bag is nonfunctional and appears empty when you open it inside a Rope Trick.

"looks empty" ... why not just drop all the content?
 


Remove ads

Top