Eye of the Warlock aka Mirzam's Secret Eye

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter
Quick rules question: the Daily power Eye of the Warlock doesn't have any duration I can see other than "Save Ends". Does that mean it keeps going until the target actually makes its save? Or are there other ways to end it?

If not, and if the target never saves, can the Warlock target another creature on the next day?

If this is so, it would seem as if a cunning Warlock could build up a small stable of targets who are subject to his Eye...with all of the nastiness that implies.

FWIW, "Mirzam's Secret Eye" is what I've renamed this power for my new PC- I can't say the power's regular name without hearing Saga's megahit...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btPJPFnesV4"]YouTube- Survivor - Eye Of The Tiger[/ame]
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Quick rules question: the Daily power Eye of the Warlock doesn't have any duration I can see other than "Save Ends". Does that mean it keeps going until the target actually makes its save? Or are there other ways to end it?

Powers that end with a save always end at the end of an encounter (or five minutes).

If not, and if the target never saves, can the Warlock target another creature on the next day?

Yes, you could.

However seeing as an extended rest is longer than five minutes, this will not allow you to have multiple eyes active.

If this is so, it would seem as if a cunning Warlock could build up a small stable of targets who are subject to his Eye...with all of the nastiness that implies.

Of course, all the targets DO have an obvious third eye sticking out of their forehead. And all that nastiness that implies.


However, I'm sure there IS a way to get two eyes going at once. In such an instance, I suppose you could use one target as the point of origin for another use of Eyes of Warlock. It's not terribly practical however.
 

Thanks! Where is that, BTW? I'm going to be playing the role of "DM's assistant" in an upcoming test drive of 4Ed for my current group- I forsee that question popping up.

Oh yeah, while I'm at it...do casters need a hand free to use a power? If so, is 4Ed just like other editions in that casters w/2 handed weapons (like Wizards with staffs) simply hold their weapons while casting (and thus, can't make attacks with it during that round)?

Of course, all the targets DO have an obvious third eye sticking out of their forehead. And all that nastiness that implies.
I thought the third eye was only visible when you were actually looking through it or using a power through it...am I wrong?
 

Thanks! Where is that, BTW? I'm going to be playing the role of "DM's assistant" in an upcoming test drive of 4Ed for my current group- I forsee that question popping up.

Oh yeah, while I'm at it...do casters need a hand free to use a power? If so, is 4Ed just like other editions in that casters w/2 handed weapons (like Wizards with staffs) simply hold their weapons while casting (and thus, can't make attacks with it during that round)?


I thought the third eye was only visible when you were actually looking through it or using a power through it...am I wrong?

PHB1 p279 defines spell duration mechanics. The '5 minute rule' only applies to powers with a sustained duration or a duration of "Until the End of the Encounter". By default an unspecified duration is UEotE but a (save ends) effect is neither of these, so THEORETICALLY it can last forever. The problem is there isn't any way to reduce an enemy's saving throw to the point where you can actually make a power permanent with current errata AFAIK. Given that a round is 6 seconds even if an enemy needed a 20 to save they would only remain under the effect for an average of 2 minutes. Effectively any permanent power effect is thus going to have to be a DM provided thing. Trust me, it won't come up in normal play (anymore anyway, if you use pre-errata orb wizards or other pre-errata stuff in AV1 then its possible, though difficult).
 

Oh yeah, while I'm at it...do casters need a hand free to use a power? If so, is 4Ed just like other editions in that casters w/2 handed weapons (like Wizards with staffs) simply hold their weapons while casting (and thus, can't make attacks with it during that round)?

No. Unless it was a Melee Touch power...probably. And no.
 



Oh yeah, while I'm at it...do casters need a hand free to use a power? If so, is 4Ed just like other editions in that casters w/2 handed weapons (like Wizards with staffs) simply hold their weapons while casting (and thus, can't make attacks with it during that round)?

1) The DM can rule that if you're tied up you cannot use your powers. This isn't even a 'caster' thing.

2) Get rid of the idea of 'casters.' That idea does not exist in 4e. Everyone uses powers. 'Casting' is one way of describing how certain classes use their powers, but it has no actual game impact. There is no advantage or disadvantage, rules-wise, for being a 'Caster'. As well, many 'spells' actually involve taking a sword and hitting someone with it; the game does not work like it used to.

3) In order to use an Implement power, you require nothing. Unless you're in a situation the DM deems renders Implement use impossible, you can use Implement powers with your bare-hands. Level 1 characters never need to buy their implements unless they have a class feature that keys of of an implement type.

4) In order to use an Implement with a power and get the implement's magic bonus, features, properties, feats, etc, you must be wielding the implement. So in the case of the wizard, not only would he be allowed to cast holding his staff, he -must- hold his staff if he wishes to use any staff-related benefits. Implements, however, do not need to be held as weapons are. That staff can be held in one hand to be used as an implement. It's a one pound stick. Seriously. You can hold one in one hand.

5) The only two exceptions to 4 are: Holy Symbols which must be worn, and you can only wear one at a time, but you can take one off and put another on very easily, and Ki Focuses which are also worn, but can only be swapped out of battle. Wearing more than one Holy Symbol, or more than one Ki Focus means you cannot use either implement at all to do anything.

I thought the third eye was only visible when you were actually looking through it or using a power through it...am I wrong?

Good point. You're right.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top