Ferocious Reaction and Action Points

RefinedBean

First Post
Ferocious Reaction (Iron Vanguard Utility 2) says that you can spend an action point as an immediate interrupt before falling unconscious at 0 HP.

Is this a case where specific beats general, and a character can spend more than one action point per encounter?

I assume so, because it's already overriding the Spend An Action Point: Free Action table (can only be spent on your turn, specifically).

Figured I'd get the wisdom of ENworld, though. Maybe I'm missing something.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

edit: More briefly: Huh?

The power allows you to make two specific exceptions to the action point rules: spending an action point outside of your turn, and as an interrupt. That doesn't support granting a further, unrelated exception. I don't see how the text even suggests that it might.
 
Last edited:

In order for an exception to me made to the rules, the power would need to say "even if you've already spent an action point this encounter".

The power lets you "spend an action point" which is a well defined process, and it points out the exceptions to normal "spending an action point" (using it as an interupt). That is the only exception stated, you still have to follow all other normal action point rules. You still need to have a point to spend, and you can't spend more than one per encounter.


Notice that you didn't ask "Do i need to have an action point to spend?" because you know you need to have one to spend or you can't execute the power. Just because the power said "you spend an action point" doesn't negate the fact you NEED to have a point to spend. The "one action point per encounter" rule is NO different. It may seems like it should be, but it isn't.

You only get the exceptions stated; you can't infer other exceptions that aren't stated.
 

I agree with the prior responses. The power lets you spend an action point if you have one to spend. It neither provides one if you are out nor allows you to spend a second one in a single encounter.
 

Okay, thanks for the responses, all!

I'm still trying to get my head around the "specific beats general" thing.
 
Last edited:

Technically you can take free actions after a charge, just not on your own turn. Kinda funny that way, and will rarely matter, but that's how it looks to me.
 

Okay, thanks for the responses, all!

I'm still trying to get my head around the "specific beats general" thing.

Think of it the other way around: the normal (general) rules always apply, unless a specific situation has a special rule that says otherwise.
 

Remove ads

Top