Fight Your Own Summon for XP, would you allow it?

RUMBLETiGER

Adventurer
Consider this Scinario. Your Players are making camp for the night and the caster asks you as the DM if he or she could use up a Summon Monster spell that had been prepared but not used for that day, so the party could fight it for the experience.

Would you allow this? How would you expect the summoned creature to react? Could the caster designate his fellow party members as "directing it to attack particular enemies"? Could the caster order the summoned creature to consider him or herself as an enemy?

Would you grant xp as appropriate for the kill?

Would you allow the caster to dismiss the spell, banishing the summoned creature, if the battle got too hairy?

Would you grant any sort of penalties towards future uses of the spell, making summoned creatures wary of the caster?

Your thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad







My group tried something like this when I was running an Evil campaign.

We were testing out the rules for using rituals to add magic to weapons. I laid out the guidelines and stipulations. One player wanted ice powers on his sword (1d6 cold damage). The stipulation was "face and defeat 1 ice-based creature of equal or higher level in single combat", plus other things like applying special oils to the sword etc, etc.

The party decided to do an "end run" on me and have the sorcerer summon an Ice Mephit for the player to face. I allowed it. However, the Ice Mephit was no longer under the control of the sorcerer after the first attack. Secondly, the "single combat" went out the window when the Ice Mephit started trashing the fighter. Long story short, he paid for the magic at the next city. :cool:
 

No. The xp value of summoned creatures is included in the summoner, so if the party wants to get some xp when resting, they should kill the cleric, wizard or sorcerer suggesting this.
 

I would not tell them if they got XP for the encounter or not. (I wouldn't give them XP for it but I'm not telling them that). It would be up to the summoner to summon the thing and to have them fight it. If that's what they want to do then they can do it.
 

Remove ads

Top