Flying Down Doubles Movement - 5-Foot Step Becomes 10-Foot Step?

squingynaut

First Post
In D&D v3.5, while flying, any creature with a fly speed can fly in a downward direction at double their normal speed. With this in mind, would the "5-Foot" part of a 5-Foot Step allow you to move 10 feet without using a Move Action, provided you were moving down? It does specify that you can take a 5-Foot Step provided the creature has the listed speed.

According to RAW, I'd probably allow it, although this opens up a can of worms from the GM's perspective, particularly when you start throwing things like Skirmish and who knows what else into the mix. I assume this decision will ultimately be up to our GM but I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something and wanted to hear outside opinions.

Thanks, guys!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I do not have a RAW answer for you, so keep that in mind with my following suggestion:

RAI, my understanding of why you can take a 5' step is because a short sidestep is easy to accomplish while still facing and focusing on your opponent. Anything more and you'd need to turn away from your opponent and focus more attention on moving and the resulting reduction in attention to your opponent grants them a chance to hit you while your attention is divided.

In the case you've mentioned with flying downward, I'd see the equivolent of moving away from your opponent while still facing and focusing on your opponent = intentionally engaging in some sort of freefall. If I stopped flapping, hovering, concetrating, whatever was contributing to flying, dropped 10 feet in a round while the entire time focusing my attention on my target, I see that as not provoking an A.o.O. If you instead turn away to actively fly downward (as opposed to focusing on your opponent and letting Gravity do it) then I see this as triggering an A.o.O.

The 3D movement of flight is much different conceptually than on the ground.
 

I would rule that a 5ft step is a 5ft step. If a Colossal Dragon can only move 5ft, then a small flying creature shouldn't be allowed to fly down 10ft as a 5ft step.

I know that is not what the OP is comparing, but I just wanted to highlight the potential issues you could get in to.

Olaf the Stout
 

I would also argue in favor of saying a 5-ft step cannot exceed 5-ft. There are no exceptions made in the 5ft step description. Also note that taking 5-ft steps in mid-air requires Good or Perfect maneuverability as creatures with less than that must maintain a minimum forward speed of half their fly speed, land at the end of their turn, or fall 150 ft per round.
 

I agree under raw that a 5' step is not a move action and is not impacted.

NOte that under RAW a 40 Tumble check allows a 10' step.

Mayhap a homerule that flying down gives a +5 circumstance bonus to this check?
 



Remove ads

Top