Force Claw

Hannibal Barca

First Post
Does this spell threaten the the squares in the 20' cube it guards? Or does it only make attacks of opportunity when another condition exists that triggers one? (Example: Getting up from prone while being threatened by a fighter) :uhoh:
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Technically, if it didn't threaten the 20' cube, it couldn't take any AoO. Therefore, I'd say that it treats all squares in the cube as threatened, including for movement.
 

"The claw guards the area of a 20-foot cube that you specify. You can move the claw's location up to 60 feet to another point within range each round on your turn as a move action. ."

My read on this is that it only affects the cube it guards. If someone provokes it during the duration, then they get whacked. If someone skirts the edge, the spell ignores them.
 

Blue Sky said:
Technically, if it didn't threaten the 20' cube, it couldn't take any AoO.

Well, you also provoke an AoO when you enter someone else's square as part of a grapple. Which makes me think that is what this spell is doing. It is a spell, so it isn't working entirely off of the reach/threaten/provoke AoO rules. I would say, you enter it's square, you provoke. You go around the square w/o entering, you do not provoke.

If you are fighting a tiny creature with 0ft reach, do you provoke from them if you attempt to grapple them?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top