Free Hands and Casting Spells

SWAT

First Post
Can the one free hand required to cast spells with a somatic component be the same hand that manipulates a required material component? Or do spells with material and somatic components require two hands to cast? I never felt the rules were entirely clear about this...
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Doug McCrae said:
From this, you don't have to manipulate or even hold a material component, just have it on your person.

"To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any)."

-Hyp.
 

I've always just assumed that part of the somatic getures were manipulating the materials. But then, I don't play spell casters alot...do (m)any spells exist that have a material component without a somatic component? (I'm betting there are..)
 

Remove ads

Top