Gauntlet Axe (DSCS)

The superior weapon, Gauntlet Axe, is listed with the "defensive," property, and in the description it says that it can be used as a light shield. So does this mean it would get +1 for being defensive, AND +1 for acting as a light shield? Or, no?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I would have to say it is just Defensive. You can't use the fluff of anything in this game for rules. You can also think of simular items. A Heavy shield provides +2 AC . that guantlet is no where near as useful to block attacks as a shield. So no. I do not thik you get both bonuses.
 

A defensive weapon grants you a +1 bonus to AC while you wield the defensive weapon in one hand and wield another melee weapon in your other hand. Wielding more than one defensive weapon does not increase this bonus. To gain this benefit, you need not attack with the defensive weapon, but you must be proficient with it.

Things to consider:
1) the AC bonus from defensive is untyped, so it would stack with a shield
2) you must be wielding it as a weapon to get this bonus (but needn't be attacking with it)
3)The description of it being a light sheild IS in a place with game effects (ie its in the same place that Kukri's are described as working as daggers for proficient rogues). Its not fluff.

The only question is "can you wield it as a weapon and use it as a shield at the same time?"

If yes, then you get both, if no, then you get one or the other. Personally I think its unclear. If you can do both then you pretty much ALWAYS get a +2 AC +1 ref. If you have to switch, is it a free action? Can you use it as a weapon and then shift it to being a shield after the attack? Bah!

I think it being defensive is enough, and they should have left it at that.
 

Tortoise blade has a footnote that says it can be used as a light shield, but gauntlet axe does not have that same footnote. I think the defensive property is supposed to be representative of it being a shield. But, I'd say that it also gives you a +1 to Reflex, due to the description which can indeed contain mechanics. However, it does not stack into a +2 to AC.
 

It's kind of an infered reference, but I believe you get the bonuses from a light shield when using the Gauntlet Axe due to the answer given here on the FAQ:

1. Does wielding a Gauntlet Axe count as having a hand free, with regards to situations like the Brawler Fighter’s AC bonus or the Swordmage warding feature?
No. You would be able to grab with a hand equipped with a gauntlet axe, but would not work with the class features due to it's benefits as a shield.
 

Well isn't that just weird.

Okay, looking this over, RAW is actually clear...if poorly written and confusing at first.

* They both can be used as light shields, and shield feats can be used with either of them when used that way; but you cannot both attack with the weapon and use it as a shield in the same round.
* The gauntlet axe, but not the tortoise blade, gives a +1 to AC when wielded along with another melee weapon. When used this way, however, it is not a shield and shield feats cannot be used with it.
* The gauntlet axe is strictly superior to the tortoise blade in every way except price. This is irritating, as I think the tortoise blade is pretty cool. Somehow I think this is contrary to the designers' intent.
 

It's kind of an infered reference, but I believe you get the bonuses from a light shield when using the Gauntlet Axe due to the answer given here on the FAQ:

1. Does wielding a Gauntlet Axe count as having a hand free, with regards to situations like the Brawler Fighter’s AC bonus or the Swordmage warding feature?
No. You would be able to grab with a hand equipped with a gauntlet axe, but would not work with the class features due to it's benefits as a shield.

I don't understand how that makes sense.

It's in the FAQ, so apparently that's how it works, but I don't understand the reasoning.
 

Remove ads

Top