Gel. Cube engulfing Dwarf question ...

karooba

First Post
Engulf: On a hit, target is grabbed and pulled into the cube's space: dazed and ongoing 10 acid until escape.

Dwarf Stand Your Ground: If effect forces you to be pulled, pushed or slid, you move 1 square less.

My questions ...

1. Does the cube's engulf work on the dwarf? Is it an effect?

2. If no, dwarf isn't pulled, does he suffer from the dazed and ongoing 10 acid damage? (he was hit by the cube's attack)

3. If no to qu. 2, does this mean dwarves are completely immune to the cube's engulf?

Thanks for any input ...
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Engulf: On a hit, target is grabbed and pulled into the cube's space: dazed and ongoing 10 acid until escape.

Dwarf Stand Your Ground: If effect forces you to be pulled, pushed or slid, you move 1 square less.
Gelatinous Cubes have more than one space. Pick a square other than the closest, such that even with -1 movement, the Dwarf is in the cube.

Cheers, -- N
 

M Engulf (standard; at-will) ! Acid

The gelatinous cube attacks one or two Medium or smaller targets; +8 vs. Reflex (automatically hits an immobilized creature). On a hit, the target is grabbed and pulled into the cube’s space; the target is dazed and takes ongoing 10 acid damage until it escapes the grab. A creature that escapes the grab shifts to a square of its choosing adjacent to the cube. The cube can move normally while creatures are engulfed within it.



So it looks like the effects occur when grabbed. So the dwarf would become dazed and take dmg. But it wouldn't be "engulfed within it" therefore the cube couldn't move normally. This of course differs by DM's outlook, but an excellent question nontheless.
 

Gelatinous Cubes have more than one space. Pick a square other than the closest, such that even with -1 movement, the Dwarf is in the cube.

Cheers, -- N

Not sure what you mean here. Are you talking about the cube simply moving onto the dwarf and engulfing him? Can cubes do that? I was asking about its engulf attack power (standard; at-will; +8 vs. Reflex). The target must be adjacent. Does this power work on a dwarf that is adjacent?


CapnZapp: Do you find it reasonable Dwarves should be immune?

No, not completely immune. In our game today I ruled the dwarf was dazed and had ongoing 10 acid, but wasn't pulled into the cube (exactly what Nebten said).
 

Dwarves reduce the distance they are pulled, but when there are no distances given, when they are pulled, slid or pushed to a certain space, that's it, Dwarves suffer the same consequences as any other.
 

Dwarves reduce the distance they are pulled, but when there are no distances given, when they are pulled, slid or pushed to a certain space, that's it, Dwarves suffer the same consequences as any other.

That's generally how I apply it. If the effect specifies a distance, that distance is reduced. If the effect specifies a target square, I find that it just gets silly if you try to let the dwarf power apply.
 

The more I've played 4e, the more I've determined that the dwarf resistance to forced movement really didn't work out the most fun and sensible way. Immunity to bull rush and mild forms of forced movement, weird interactions with several abilities, meh.
 

Not sure what you mean here. Are you talking about the cube simply moving onto the dwarf and engulfing him?
No, he's pointing out that the cube can pull the dwarf more than 1 square. It's not specified that it has to be an adjacent square he pulls the dwarf into. So, pull the dwarf into the "back" square and thus the dwarf simply ends up in an adjacent square. Problem solved from your end.
 


Remove ads

Top