dcollins
Explorer
Grundle said:Why couldn't a shirt be endowed with a permanent Magic Vestment spell, by a cleric with Craft Wonderous Item?![]()
Because they're not in the rulebook.
www.superdan.net/dndfaq3.html
Grundle said:Why couldn't a shirt be endowed with a permanent Magic Vestment spell, by a cleric with Craft Wonderous Item?![]()
Al said:Personally, I would assume that clothing goes into the
slot, what with clothing and vestments essentially being synonymous.
As for the type of bonus, it would *technically* be an enhancement bonus. Under Magic Vestment, this is a legitimate interpretation, and if armour if enchanted, it is an enhancement bonus.
Technically, therefore, it *does* indeed stack with Bracers of Armour (since BoA provides an armour bonus, and magical clothing would provide an enhancement bonus).
Antikinesis said:
He didn't say "armor bonus", he said "armor enhancement". Not the same thing. All of the items you mentioned are not armor, and are ineligible for armor enhancement bonuses.
-AK
Enhancement...Armor's bonus...Magic Vestment...+1 Armor
FCWesel said:A player asked if he could get his clothing enchanted as armour is to protect him. Is there some unbalancing factor that I am forgetting that makes this unwise?
I mean, he's not getting a bonus out of it really. Clothing won't have a base AC bonus, it won't add to any skill checks as leather doesn't have a check penalty.
Sure it would be lighter then armour though movement penalties would be minor.
It would still take up the "Armour Slot" and would preculde the use of items with a armour bonus, such as bracers of armour.
Any thoughts or ideas?
Clothing of armour is creatable by the rules...
Hypersmurf said:
Ooh, I want to try it this time...
[clears throat]
dcollins, dcollins, dcollins...
-Hyp.
S'mon said:
You _can't_ use craft wondrous item to give that vest the range of armour special abilities on pg 180 DMG. Because it's technically not armour, it's a _wondrous item_ that gives an armour bonus.
hong said:
Actually, according to the Arms & Equipment Guide, you can.
Actually, according to the Arms & Equipment Guide, you can.