Grapple question...

RigaMortus2

First Post
When you are grappled, there is a list of options you are allowed to do. But are the things on that list the ONLY things you are allowed to do/

Are you allowed to take a Standard Action when grappled? Or use an ability that takes a Standard Action?

One of the things listed is to attack the enemy, but they don't mention the action type it takes. So I assume you can make a Full Attack Action or a Standard (Attack).

This was brought up because my Swordsage was caught in a grapple and I used Shadow Jaunt to get out, which is a maneuver that takes a Standard Action and allows you to teleport up to 50 feet. Just wondering if this was legal (the DM let me do it) but I want to make sure we did that right.

Would it matter if it was one of the later Shadow Jaunt abilities? There is one that takes a Move Action and one that takes a Swift Action. Would that matter?

Just want to make sure for the future...
 

log in or register to remove this ad


RigaMortus2 said:
But are the things on that list the ONLY things you are allowed to do/
No, and for proof of that, look at something like a dragon's breath weapon + snatch. The rule about no saving throw couldn't exist unless the dragon could take a standard action to breathe, or perhaps even a free (swift) action (quickened) or perhaps even a full round action (maximized).

PS. Maximize breath + improved snatch is a really nasty combo for an unprotected character that was unable to escape after getting snatched.
 

All of the above, plus:

RigaMortus2 said:
One of the things listed is to attack the enemy, but they don't mention the action type it takes. So I assume you can make a Full Attack Action or a Standard (Attack).

True.

RigaMortus2 said:
This was brought up because my Swordsage was caught in a grapple and I used Shadow Jaunt to get out, which is a maneuver that takes a Standard Action and allows you to teleport up to 50 feet. Just wondering if this was legal (the DM let me do it) but I want to make sure we did that right.

I'd allow it too, but wouldn't it at least require a Concentration check? How are the ruels at this point?
 



i think the warlock is ruled in a similar fashion - (Su) don't provoke and can be used in a grapple, but maneuvers and invocations both require unrestricted movement; ie: not while in a grapple.

although, in the MIC, the third eye freedom item gives you the effects of the freedom of movement for a single round - perfect for escaping grapples. it's only about 2600 and takes up the face slot, which in my opinion isn't a bad deal at all.
 

Remove ads

Top