Grappled spellcasting

Darklone

Registered User
OK. Assume a sorcerer wants to cast a metamagicked (still) spell because he is grappled. Is this allowed?

The problem is, by the current grappling rules it's not really clear if you could do full round actions...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, now.

This really, really depends on your interpretation of how metamagic affects the casting time, and what the definition of "greater than one action" is.

As far as I'm concerned, the casting time of a Still Magic Missile cast by a sorcerer and by a wizard is identical. The sorcerer just needs a full-round action to do it. The stat block of the spell is unaffected.

Other people prefer to view it as the casting time of the spell actually increasing.

And then there is the debate as to whether "greater than one action" includes "one standard action" and "one full-round action", or just the standard action.

My answer? Yes, a sorcerer can cast a Still Spell in a grapple, providing he has any material components in hand.

But I guarantee others will disagree :)

-Hyp.
 


Yes, the sorcerer can cast a metamagic spell while grappling, BUT don't forget about the Concentration check of DC 20 + spell level.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top